Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

hello everyone, first of all nice forum ... i just got my blackberry and reading ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    chillo's Avatar
    chillo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    Advertisement



    hello everyone,

    first of all nice forum ... i just got my blackberry and reading a lot on the forum helped me a lot ... got many questions answered by just reading and searching ... im new with this kind of device ... umts, gprs, edge ... for me its all chinese to be honest ...

    there is only one problem i have, so therefore this post ...

    I heard its possible to use my blackberry through my usb port on my PC and use it as a modem ... question is How? ...

    I live in italy ... use TIM as a provider ... the install cd doesnt mention anything bout setting up an account ... whot do i need? a pc card? a driver? where do i get some parameters like a number to put in etc ...

    i tried to set up a connection manually but of course the modem wasnt found ... maybe i need to activate something on my pearl ... dunno ... if some of you experts could help me and give me a help, id check it out ... many of you are americans and probably are more aware of whots possible with cellphones etc ... i hope you could help me out since i see that many pple here use T mobile as a provider ...

    anyway thanx in advance,

    cheers

  2. #2
    srl7741's Avatar
    srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    6,359

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    Hi chillo,

    this thread should give you that answer.
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ighlight=modem

    welcome to pinstacks and enjoy everything.

  3. #3
    jbj9871's Avatar
    jbj9871 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    250

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    There should be software from tmo that you just download and install and that's it.

  4. #4
    tony597fittr's Avatar
    tony597fittr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B9B8D
    Posts
    58

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    I havent seen any or heard of any software. But if you follow the link that is how you set it up. If that way doesnt work the other forum has another way of setting it up.

  5. #5
    seedyburner's Avatar
    seedyburner no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    2438f59d
    Posts
    142

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    My question is slightly different. I know you can setup the pearl as a modem, but can you connect your pc to the EDGE internet... not dialup. That would be more beneficial. Would not have to pay for additional service or use your minutes.

  6. #6
    tony597fittr's Avatar
    tony597fittr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B9B8D
    Posts
    58

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    You dont use your minutes, at least not with t-mobile. It is all data. I can connect with my pearl and still use my phone. if you have t-mobiles unlimited you shouldnt get charged for tethering.

  7. #7
    Dirty Cash's Avatar
    Dirty Cash no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3G
    Posts
    1,566

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    Chillo...Welcome aboard!!!

  8. #8
    seedyburner's Avatar
    seedyburner no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    2438f59d
    Posts
    142

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    so if I use my pearl as a modem even though it's dial up, I won't get charged minutes???

  9. #9
    ericugs's Avatar
    ericugs no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    258

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    right because it's actually using your data

  10. #10
    chillo's Avatar
    chillo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    well well gonna check it out ASAP ... thanx guys for the warm welcome

    i think i gonna use also edge, if possible becuz ... well newsflash i am connected 24/7 for a price that is the same ... probably thats additional info cuz this service is new in italy ... probably abroad its already there for ages

    cheers

  11. #11
    chillo's Avatar
    chillo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    Quote Originally Posted by srl7741
    Hi chillo,

    this thread should give you that answer.
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ighlight=modem

    welcome to pinstacks and enjoy everything.
    Hi mate,

    well i dont use tmobile ... i have TIM as an operator ... isnt there any software availlable for my operator, or just software where you can put your phonenumber in with prefix ...
    told you i am a non US member

    ps: for the record ... whot is a data plan?

    cheers

  12. #12
    chillo's Avatar
    chillo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    BTW ... is it possible to use the software of t mobile when somebody sends it to me, and use it with my provider or am i just dreaming?

    cheers

  13. #13
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    Dont bother trying to use the Pearl as a modem as your going to get speeds LESS than a 56k modem does.

    I decided to try it seeing the threads here and on other boards and the speed tests I ran "multiple times" with a 1/2 meg file, the larger the file the more accurate the tests, were only average 30-40k at best. I did get one slighly higher around 50k but averaging is 30-40k.

    When you connect the Pearl to the PC, it says connecting at 115k (I forgot to write it down but its 115 or 118k) but its VERY slow. Way to slow for any kind of graphics, music or video downloads. So slow that I aborted the loading of many pages as it was so frustrating.

  14. #14
    chillo's Avatar
    chillo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    hmmm interesting ... im gonna try though in some way as im curious

    look im from belgium and i live in italy ... all i need is msn to be open to chat with me mates once in a while ... cant download anything anyway as the sim card is from the company and if i gonna start download music etc i dont think thats a wise idea, especially with the company in the middle ... if i go to jail its becuz im an idiot dont want to get other pple involved in it hehe

    thanx for your reaction

    cheers

  15. #15
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: How do i set up an internet connection through pc?

    Quote Originally Posted by rkkeller
    Dont bother trying to use the Pearl as a modem as your going to get speeds LESS than a 56k modem does.

    I decided to try it seeing the threads here and on other boards and the speed tests I ran "multiple times" with a 1/2 meg file, the larger the file the more accurate the tests, were only average 30-40k at best. I did get one slighly higher around 50k but averaging is 30-40k.

    When you connect the Pearl to the PC, it says connecting at 115k (I forgot to write it down but its 115 or 118k) but its VERY slow. Way to slow for any kind of graphics, music or video downloads. So slow that I aborted the loading of many pages as it was so frustrating.
    Not necessarily...

    Your USB port is probably limited to 115k, not the device itself.

    If the USB is restriciting speeds to 115k, even if the device pulls 2-3x that in speed, the USB is going to limit it to the 115k.

    There was a thread somewhere where another person was saying they were always getting 115k when using the Pearl as a modem, but come to find out it was USB limited.

    There are a few ways around it.

    A: Get a faster USB port, which is going to be pretty inpractical for most people.
    B: Try and go in and edit your USB for the MAX amount of transfer that you can get.

    If I get time here a little later, I will do a How To on utilizing and speeding up a USB transfer.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •