Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Is it possible to add a hotmail account to a BIS plan without paying at ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    COJO 24's Avatar
    COJO 24 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E89BE8
    Posts
    724

    Hotmail accounts

    Advertisement



    Is it possible to add a hotmail account to a BIS plan without paying at all? I know there is flurry shivh is what I am using right now but it just isn't as good as being alerted when I receive. If anyone knows anything about this feel free to post.

  2. #2
    EvolutionCSR's Avatar
    EvolutionCSR no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,711

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Not sure about hotmail as I have @msn is it the same? But in any event I believe its carrier specific because my @msn address worked fine with Nextel but not with T-mo.


  3. #3
    OYSTR's Avatar
    OYSTR no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Added hotmail account like any other in the email set up with the carrier

    .... http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ded_pearl.html

  4. #4
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    I don't this you can use hotmail with the Pearl, not 100% sure though. Someone correct me if i'm wrong.

    p.s. I signed in white!

    GotPearl?

  5. #5
    jkrums's Avatar
    jkrums no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    317CBE4F
    Posts
    80

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Why not just switch to gmail? Works on anything.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    COJO 24's Avatar
    COJO 24 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E89BE8
    Posts
    724

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Well the problem is that all my friends (about 350) use msn messenger and if i create a new email i will have to tell everyone so it is kinda hard to do that. Not only do they know this email only but if i change it then i wont recieve all my hotmail emails on the new account.

    Kinda hard to explain but it would just be easier to be able to recieve my hotmail messages if they are fowarded to my phone instead of me having to check whenever i get a new message using a third party app.

    thanks in advance,

    COJO 24

  7. #7
    maestrowork's Avatar
    maestrowork no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    144

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Nope. You can't forward Hotmail, and you can't push, and there's no pop access. Hotmail sucks. You can install something called GetMail, but it has to run on a PC that's always on.

  8. #8
    penk's Avatar
    penk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    105

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    OYSTR's link has good info in it.

    it is possible to forward hotmail, but only with a Hotmail Plus account, which is a service based fee.

    some carriers offer hotmail support through their BIS. t-mo is not a current participant, and i have read mixed answers for cingular.

  9. #9
    ziminvades's Avatar
    ziminvades no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    702

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    There is a forwarding service called versaforward. It works great but you have to pay. Depending on the frequency it checks the price will be affected. I have 2 accounts it checks and I pay $19 a month.This has been the only option I have found. FYI tmobile-we want hotmail and msn available for the blackberry.

    www.versaforward.com

    If this address doesn't work google it!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    ziminvades's Avatar
    ziminvades no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    702

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    With the post above I failed to mention that your account does not have to be hotmail plus. Standard msn and hotmail accounts will work. I am very pleased with the service.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    kurrupt_1's Avatar
    kurrupt_1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    PIN/ID
    23AEA032
    Posts
    141

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Quote Originally Posted by COJO 24
    Well the problem is that all my friends (about 350) use msn messenger and if i create a new email i will have to tell everyone so it is kinda hard to do that. Not only do they know this email only but if i change it then i wont recieve all my hotmail emails on the new account.

    Kinda hard to explain but it would just be easier to be able to recieve my hotmail messages if they are fowarded to my phone instead of me having to check whenever i get a new message using a third party app.

    thanks in advance,

    COJO 24
    Change is a bitch sometimes.
    "If you can't do it on one wheel, try harder!"

  12. #12
    juched's Avatar
    juched no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Quote Originally Posted by maestrowork
    Nope. You can't forward Hotmail, and you can't push, and there's no pop access. Hotmail sucks. You can install something called GetMail, but it has to run on a PC that's always on.
    Yahoo, GMail and Hotmail all work perfectly fine for me on my Pearl (Rogers).

    I don't have hotmail plus, but my account is pretty old (1996).

  13. #13
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I think the hotmail push is not *supported* by tmo. Kinda like yahoo im not working on cingular.

    I def feel your pain. I've had my hotmail addy for almost 10 years.

  14. #14
    maestrowork's Avatar
    maestrowork no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    144

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Quote Originally Posted by juched
    Yahoo, GMail and Hotmail all work perfectly fine for me on my Pearl (Rogers).

    I don't have hotmail plus, but my account is pretty old (1996).
    How do you get Hotmail to work (and I don't mean by using the browser)? Inquiring mind wants to know.

  15. #15
    juched's Avatar
    juched no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Hotmail accounts

    Quote Originally Posted by maestrowork
    How do you get Hotmail to work (and I don't mean by using the browser)? Inquiring mind wants to know.
    I went to my BIS server on my PC (w ww.rogers.com/bis ?? I can't recall) and just hit "add email" and entered my hotmail address.

    It just worked!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •