Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Help! I'm leaving to Germany in a few hours for two weeks, so I need ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    int2str's Avatar
    int2str no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    21

    HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    Advertisement



    Help!

    I'm leaving to Germany in a few hours for two weeks, so I need some urgent advice!

    Bought my 8100 last week. Put T-Mo .103 on it about 2 days in. Now, my device will crash quite often. The end result is typically a "White Screen of Death" (tm).... All white screen. Nothing seems to fix it.

    However, sometimes I also see really weird screen phenomena. Like the screen shows the top half only, but twice. The device still seems to work then just the display is messed up.

    When the WSOD occurs, it seems all messed up though...

    I'm not sure if it's the .103 software or simply a messed up LCD driver or loose wire somewhere...

    Anybody seen this before?

    I can't make it to a store in time tomorrow to replace the phone.... Any hints?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    skunk22civic's Avatar
    skunk22civic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2408989b
    Posts
    200

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ a lot of people have been having problems with the new OS, which dm version did you use?

  3. #3
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    yeah i would say its the O.S, there are some glitches that need to be fixed. Some people say that they recommend going to the Czech 103, I don't know how that runs though

  4. #4
    skunk22civic's Avatar
    skunk22civic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2408989b
    Posts
    200

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ make sure you didn't use that dm that came with your berry, it is corrupted, I would reinstall the OS Czech 103.. It might just fix your problem. Post back with results.

  5. #5
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    First of all, go to Control Panel and uninstall all versions of Dektop Manager and the BB OS found.

    Install the OS found here http://updateservice.t-mobile.net/bl...?servcoid=TMCZ
    Free Download Area>Devices>RIM Devices>8100.

    Also search for and install the latest version of Desktop Manager on this forum.

    Remove battery from device while installing OS on PC.
    Delete vendor.xml file. (Start>Search>type in vendor.xml>Search>Highlight vendor>Delete)
    Connect BB to PC.
    Open Desktop Manager.
    Choose Options>Connection Settings.
    Make sure USB is highlighted. Select OK.
    Choose Application Loader.
    Make sure the OS is highlighted. Click Finish.
    Start to install the OS.
    REINSERT THE BATTERY.
    Allow the process to continue (can take up to 1 HOUR).
    When the splash screen starts, disconnect BB from PC.
    Let the homescreen come up.
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 08-20-2007 at 02:27 AM.


  6. #6
    int2str's Avatar
    int2str no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    I'll give it a shot!

    What do you guys think has better chances of bailing me out - Czech .103 or T-Mo's old 4.2.0.64?

  7. #7
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    If it's a white screen I think that is an LCD issue. Not OS.

  8. #8
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    I gave you the link to the Czech version.


  9. #9
    skunk22civic's Avatar
    skunk22civic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2408989b
    Posts
    200

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I'd go back to 64, just for pre cautions, but I'm running the 103 Czech, its been great!

  10. #10
    madetosink's Avatar
    madetosink no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23FC9D3F
    Posts
    368

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i think the WSOD would be an OS issue...as for the display doubling up...I think it wouldn't be...you're probably experiencing a double wammy here...has it done anything similar before the upgrade...in terms of the double display?

  11. #11
    int2str's Avatar
    int2str no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    Well, I've only had the device for about a week and upgraded on day 2 or so... It didn't do it for a few days after the upgrade either. It started on the 3rd/4th day of .103. So I'm not 100% sure it's an OS issue.

    I'll flash .103 Czech and hope for the best....

    Wonder if T-Mo.de can replace the device while I'm there? Most likely not...

  12. #12
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    Yea the white screen is definately a hardware issue, to this day we have no idea what causes it. I always just recommend return the unit to get a new one.

  13. #13
    int2str's Avatar
    int2str no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    Yupp, I think hardware too. I re-flashed it, but it now does it even on the "no battery" ROM screen. It's all wonky

    Too bad T-Mo won't be open tomorrow morning before my flight

  14. #14
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    White screen is like Red says most definitely a hardware issue. I have experienced this problem first hand with my very first Pearl and it was a nightmare. Nothing I did resolved it. But have seen this issue pop up on the forums more times than I would like to. Return and get yourself a new device. Could just be a defect in the device manufacture that only appears in random devices.
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  15. #15
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: HELP! WSOD - (T-Mo Software .103)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lavagirl
    White screen is like Red says most definitely a hardware issue. I have experienced this problem first hand with my very first Pearl and it was a nightmare. Nothing I did resolved it. But have seen this issue pop up on the forums more times than I would like to. Return and get yourself a new device. Could just be a defect in the device manufacture that only appears in random devices.
    Yea the white screen is definately a hardware issue, to this day we have no idea what causes it. I always just recommend return the unit to get a new one.
    Normally i would agree with both of you, but coincidentally, on a new phone the screens hardware issue arises only after an OS upgrade? I don't know. I would say to either go back to the .64 or try the czech os or the .101 from austria. If that does not work then look to an exchange.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •