Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 44

Originally Posted by Freckles951 This is stressful. Where is the best place to download 4.5 ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by Freckles951 View Post
    This is stressful. Where is the best place to download 4.5 from?
    It's not that big of a deal, don't worry. We will help you. Just let us know who's your service provider and perhaps we could make it easier for you and give you the exact link for your provider instead of using another one. Tmobile? AT&T? etc...
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  2. #17
    Freckles951's Avatar
    Freckles951 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    28
    Thank you all a bunch. Hopefully now I can get my star wars theme to work.

  3. #18
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    sweet which one did you get?

    what I mean is...
    I made a vader theme, and I know someone else (can't remember who) has made a BUNCH of great star wars themes!!
    just curious which one you had picked.
    Last edited by luciferseamus; 01-10-2009 at 07:30 PM.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  4. #19
    Freckles951's Avatar
    Freckles951 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    28
    Well... that was a failure. I went to the website luciferseamus suggested. I have the decent but horrible technilogically behind Cincinnati Bell. They only had 4.2 still so I used AT&T and that was an udder failure. So after waiting 30 minutes for that to work and it didn't I started googling things and found this: 1. You need to download the new operating system to your desktop. Click on My Blog and you will find the threads that list & links to the newest OS by device and by carrier.
    2. You need to install the downloaded file (execute it) on your desktop.
    3. If the OS is NOT from your carrier, delete the vendor.xml file -- found here:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    4. Once this is done. Connect your Blackberry and either use desktop manager / application loader, or launch the Loader application found in the same folder as the vendor file we deleted.


    here: http://forums.pinstack.com/f78/upgra...o_4_5_a-96219/



    Do you think that is the same problem I am having since I did not download my companies upgrade?

  5. #20
    Freckles951's Avatar
    Freckles951 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    28
    Oh, and the star wars theme I like is this one: http://forums.pinstack.com/f193/81xx...s_theme-72024/

  6. #21
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    You can install it on your bb but be sure to follow all those steps. Be sure to remove your memory card (if) you have any in your device before upgrading. Also, be sure to perform a backup. Remove that vendor .xml file before connecting your device. Let us know how it goes.
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  7. #22
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Agree with raton,
    Sorry I didn't mention that you need to delete the vendor file.
    I didn't know if you were going to go that route.
    Def delete that vendor file and it should go smoothly.
    Let us know. And feel free to hit me up with any questions.

    pin:31a52e1c. I know we are supposed to keep it on the forums, but we can always fill in the blanks.
    Good luck and keep the faith.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #23
    Freckles951's Avatar
    Freckles951 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    28
    My computer is slow. After it loaded, the last step before clicking finish says "WARNING: After completing the loading operation, you must activate your device wirelessly to continue to send and recieve messages and use other BlackBerry services..." Is that okay, should I continue?

  9. #24
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    I don't remember that warning.
    I think, yeah continue ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #25
    Freckles951's Avatar
    Freckles951 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    28
    It worked for the most part, but it is taking a really long time to turn back on. Hopefully once it gets there everything will be working perfectly.

    Will I have to re-set up my email and SMS or will it automatically fix itself?

  11. #26
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Quote Originally Posted by Freckles951 View Post
    It worked for the most part, but it is taking a really long time to turn back on. Hopefully once it gets there everything will be working perfectly.

    Will I have to re-set up my email and SMS or will it automatically fix itself?
    It's completely normal. It should take about an hour or so... Please DO NOT unplug your phone from your pc...
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  12. #27
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Quote Originally Posted by raton View Post
    It's completely normal. It should take about an hour or so... Please DO NOT unplug your phone from your pc...
    I wanted to re iterate this:
    DO NOT UNPLUG YOUR PHONE
    everything should get setup as it is now if you do everything right. when it asks you if you want to perform a backup before installing make sure you choose YES
    as this backup will put everything back on your phone.

    keep us updated
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  13. #28
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    How's the installation going Freckles951. Did you fall asleep yet?
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  14. #29
    Freckles951's Avatar
    Freckles951 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    28
    It didn't ask me if I wanted to back up. I should have thought of that on my own.

    It took forever to reboot but it worked successfully. I lost 3 email accounts, Soduko, Pacman, and Facebook. I got facebook back, that was easy. But I can't remember how to re-set up my emails because I haven't done it since I got my phone 7 months ago. Hopefully getting my games back will be easy too, just a matter of finding the links again.

  15. #30
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    go to personal email setup and just add your email address and your password. shouldn't take no more than a minute to do so. Glad you got it all working. Now download themes for your bb and see how they work.
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •