Results 1 to 13 of 13

So I got the Pearl today and I like to keep things nice on my ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Agurv1987's Avatar
    Agurv1987 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Help! very Lost!

    Advertisement



    So I got the Pearl today and I like to keep things nice on my phone. Im kind of an idiot when it comes to technology but this phone has me completely lost!

    1. Why wont my Mobile AIM work? Whenever I try to use it..this message pops up, my Windows live wont work either. NETWORK ERROR:CAN'T CONTACT SERVER!

    2. How and where do I download new ringtones and wallpaper.

  2. #2
    cgaliffi's Avatar
    cgaliffi no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    22D95A46
    Posts
    703
    1987,

    I don't know anything about AIM since I don't instant message but in regards to downloading new ringtones and wallpapers you can do it right here on Pinstack. Just click on the download section up top. Here is a link for a comprehensive guide to the 8100 (i know you have the 8130 though) http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...100_guide.html

    Also here are links to download wallpapers & ringtones

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/downloads/links/8
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/downloads/links/28

    There are other sites on the web for both wallpapers/ringtones but this will get you started.

  3. #3
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344
    do u have a blackberry data plan?
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  4. #4
    Agurv1987's Avatar
    Agurv1987 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by melissaox View Post
    do u have a blackberry data plan?
    I believe so, im paying that 30 dollars a month for something

  5. #5
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Are you able to use the internet on your phone? And which BB do you have? I tried to look at your profile but it doesn't tell me which BB you have, who your carrier is, etc. This would be helpful


  6. #6
    Agurv1987's Avatar
    Agurv1987 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3
    8130 smartphone and Verizon

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I don't know if Verizon enabled the AIM application on their BB (they have a habit of disabling stuff) so that might be the problem there. The way to check what's on your account will be to log onto the website via PC and check to see if anything related to BlackBerry Internet Service (or BIS) is mentioned.


  8. #8
    wxboss's Avatar
    wxboss no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21DA38F3
    Posts
    478
    Are you able to access the web or use other data services?

    You may have a provisioning issue. Give your carrier a call and make sure your phone is provisioned correctly.

    Call them and tell them about the issues you're having and ask them to make sure your phone is set up properly on your end and theirs.

  9. #9
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Nope. He has Verizon.


  10. #10
    wxboss's Avatar
    wxboss no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21DA38F3
    Posts
    478
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    Nope. He has Verizon.
    I jumped the gun on my original post which assumed he was on Sprint

    Erica set me straight though

  11. #11
    greenandgold52's Avatar
    greenandgold52 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    330
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i have also removed aim from the phone and reinstalled it from bbs website. But I'd try cust care first.

  12. #12
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Yeah, I think verizon diabled it. Download the jivetalk application---it incorporates almost all messengers--one click to log in to all, nice and easy

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    Quote Originally Posted by Agurv1987 View Post
    8130 smartphone and Verizon

    no i have a verizon 8130 and they HAVE enabled aim/msn/yahoo messenger on the device. to even have a blackberry with verizon you have to have a data plan. now where did you get the aim program from? when you go to the browser icon and it goes to the verizon homepage, did you download the mobile im program from there? if not then thats where you have to get it from. if you did and the program still isnt working then it sounds like they are doing maintenance on the mobile im program and it is just down at the moment. give it some time and i am sure all will good in due time bc i have had the same issue before.

    now even though that program is free, i would still recommend JiveTalk. its a great program and much more user friendly and it has all your messengers in one

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •