Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Device: Cingular BB 8100...unlocked and working with FIDO OS: 4.2.0.71 Platform: 2.2.0.41 Kernel: 3.8.4.28 Issue: ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Loconite's Avatar
    Loconite no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    23

    Help: Standby issue

    Advertisement



    Device: Cingular BB 8100...unlocked and working with FIDO
    OS: 4.2.0.71
    Platform: 2.2.0.41
    Kernel: 3.8.4.28

    Issue: I put the phone in STANDBY by using the button at the top. When the phone rings, I am unable to answer the call. The GREEN key, RED key and the PEARL do not respond. Once the phone returns to STANDBY mode, I can de-activate STANDBY mode and see the missed call.

    I have tried the hard reset but it has not helped. There are no third party apps on the phone.

    Any suggetions/tips?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    don't use the standby mode, use the keyboard lock mode by holding down the (*) key...

    i think an OS update might fix that issue.

  3. #3
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Do you press the button again before you answer the call?

  4. #4
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    What OS are you using. I know upgradin to a newer OS fixed this for some folks



    BB DOWNLOADS
    WWW.*****.COM

  5. #5
    Loconite's Avatar
    Loconite no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    hey folks..

    I listed all dev details and OS up top...
    I just cannot answer or reject the call when the phone is in standby...even pressing the standby button while the phone rings does not help...I have to wait till the phone stops ringing and goes back to standby mode...then I can get out of standby mode and phone works normal..

    Cherrichiodo, I prefer the standby mode since its easier to use than the lock/unlock...

  6. #6
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    you could download the app that i suggested...it auto locks when the backlight goes off...then you don't have to worry about it

  7. #7
    ericugs's Avatar
    ericugs no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    258

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Loconite
    hey folks..

    I listed all dev details and OS up top...
    I just cannot answer or reject the call when the phone is in standby...even pressing the standby button while the phone rings does not help...I have to wait till the phone stops ringing and goes back to standby mode...then I can get out of standby mode and phone works normal..

    Cherrichiodo, I prefer the standby mode since its easier to use than the lock/unlock...
    Have you tried (A) Updating your OS and or (B) Reinstalling your current OS?

    I know its a pain but since you do not have any 3rd party apps, it shouldnt be too hard!

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Yea I would do what Ericugs suggested.

    I had .71 and currently have .73

    I've never had that issue.

  9. #9
    Cuban's Avatar
    Cuban no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    205449B5
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    I had the same issues. I would put the phone in standby and then a call would come through and i wouldn't be able to answer it. Ever since i upgraded my OS, i haven't had that problem any more!

  10. #10
    Cuban's Avatar
    Cuban no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    205449B5
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    I'm running the TIM Italy OS... I haven't had any issues, a bit of lag in certain places, but thats about it! I'm sure everyone knows that just locking your keys with these BB doesn't really help much!

    I've had a few emergency calls because i tried to just lock my keys and not use standby because of the issue i was facing!

  11. #11
    mqasim's Avatar
    mqasim no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    20508e6b
    Posts
    196

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    you could download the app that i suggested...it auto locks when the backlight goes off...then you don't have to worry about it
    Cherrichiodo could you tell me which app that is? Sounds cool, would love it if my bb could do that....Where can i download it from and is it free?

  12. #12
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Quote Originally Posted by mqasim
    Cherrichiodo could you tell me which app that is? Sounds cool, would love it if my bb could do that....Where can i download it from and is it free?
    Here's the Autolock if you want it

    http://www.geekandproud.net/blackberry-software/

  13. #13
    mqasim's Avatar
    mqasim no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    20508e6b
    Posts
    196

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Cheers mate

  14. #14
    Loconite's Avatar
    Loconite no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    great help guys...

    I didn't know Cingular OS has updated to .73....I will update the OS
    - will also install the autolock...thnx cherrichiodo / reddog187

  15. #15
    Loconite's Avatar
    Loconite no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Help: Standby issue

    Updated to:

    OS: 4.2.0.73
    Plat: 2.2.0.41
    Kernal: 3.8.4.28

    - tested with a couple of calls...seems to be working fine now
    Also noticed Cingular branding is replaced by AT&T including the default theme

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •