Results 1 to 13 of 13

I am in the U.K. and have bought a new Blackberry Pearl 8100 locked to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    JulianCBrown's Avatar
    JulianCBrown no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8

    Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    Advertisement



    I am in the U.K. and have bought a new Blackberry Pearl 8100 locked to Vodafone. I have purchased codes to unlock it.

    Problem 1): When I turned it on for the first time it displayed "JVM Error 102 Reset". I followed the advice on the Blackberry Support webpage plugged in my 8100 via USB and went to the Blackberry Desktop Manager. However, under Device Application Selection where I should have selected applications was the message "The Blackberry Desktop Software does not have Blackberry Device Software for the device that you have connected". I also noticed that the Blackberry Desktop Manager was displaying "Disconnected".

    Problem 2): I went to JL_Cmder and wiped the Blackberry. Now all I have is a grey screen showing a crossed-through circle with an oblong inside it and inside that a circle, a square and a triangle.
    Underneath it is "507".

    Now I have a Blackberry Pearl 8100 which I can't use.

    I should mention here that I am a Mac User at home and I have downloaded PocketMac on to my Intel iMac but all of the work mentioned above was carried out on a Windows PC at work.

    I bought the 'phone off eBay and the seller refuses to refund or exchange.

    Can someone please tell me, in nice, simple terms, how to get this 'phone working? I am new to Blackberry and I need to be helped in simple terms!

  2. #2
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    JulianCbrown, Have you tried a battery pull yet ? If that does not work and you recieved the phone with the error message on it when you first powered it up.

    I was under the impression that E-Bay had some sort of guarantee/refund system.

    There is a link "what to do if your o.s does not recognize bb."
    Have a search for it. I could not post the link.

    Hope this helps Gaz

  3. #3
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    The 507 error means that there is no os on the phone. You need to use a pc that has the desktop manager installed. You also need to download and install the os for your device. If you aren't going to use the branded os you must delete the vendor.xml. Launch desktop manager, connect the phone. It should recognize that it needs to install the os.

    Hope this helps. I would have went into more detail but I'm not near a computer.

  4. #4
    JulianCBrown's Avatar
    JulianCBrown no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    I'm still stuck! I've opened Desktop Manager on a PC and it hasn't helped!
    Under Device Application Selection where I should have selected applications was the message "The Blackberry Desktop Software does not have Blackberry Device Software for the device that you have connected". I also noticed that the Blackberry Desktop Manager was displaying "Disconnected".

  5. #5
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!


  6. #6
    JulianCBrown's Avatar
    JulianCBrown no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    Looks good BUT my Desktop Manager is STILL empty (no software) and it stills states "disconnected" at the bottom of the opening screen.

    I'm probably missing an easy point here, but this is my first Blackberry - and the way things are going, my last!

  7. #7
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    JulianCbrown. have you got a BB data plan? who is your service provider ?

    You will not be able to use the device without one although if you follow the info on the link i sent you should be able to install an O.S on your pearl.You need to remove vendor.xml file. go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader folder?
    try this link
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...or_themes.html

    Gaz.

  8. #8
    diesel1218's Avatar
    diesel1218 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    32CAA233
    Posts
    144

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    Depending on what service you have, you need to download the OS from your cell carriers website and install that, then it will appear in the desktop manager under applications.
    Blackberry 8830 WORLD EDITION

    Blackberry PIN - 32CAA233

    MySpace http://www.myspace.com/andrews9

  9. #9
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    What you need to do is install the OS to your PC first. This should fix the issue

  10. #10
    Toddboy71's Avatar
    Toddboy71 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    T o' Bee
    Posts
    2,384

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Stacey is right. All you need to do is download the Operating system. There is a forum to all the links on where to download. Once that's done, follow the link above
    How To: ReInstall OS When Computer Won't Recognize The Device Is Connected. This should do it for you. Please let us know if you get it working or have other road blocks.

  11. #11
    JulianCBrown's Avatar
    JulianCBrown no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    Got it!! Done it!! A million thanks to all you lovely people!

    Now all I've got to do is to unlock it so that I can use it with my U.K. Orange mobile 'phone account and get it to sync with my Intel iMac.

    Any ideas out there?

  12. #12
    Mp55's Avatar
    Mp55 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23e4903f
    Posts
    259

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Well I'm glad to see that you got it to work, you will soon discover the meaning of crackberry

    -MP

  13. #13
    antx16's Avatar
    antx16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    481

    Re: Help Needed Desperately By BB Pearl 8100 Novice!

    well this is just a little off topic but if you have a recent mac with intel chip you can run a partition of windows under a software that you download from apple called bootcamp , thats what i do and it all works fine , for the syncing i use pocket mac for blackberry that syncs perfectly

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •