Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hey guys, I just recently got a new blackberry pearl (it was an update from ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12

    Help! Desktop manager error.

    Advertisement



    Hey guys, I just recently got a new blackberry pearl (it was an update from my old blackberry). I have been trying to access desktop manager, which I just recently downloaded/updated from download.com, but desktop manager is reading that my device is disconnected. Even when I go into connection settings -> Usb -> detect, the program gives me a device not found message (Even though everything is connected fine, and the cord is manufactured by blackberry)

    PLEASE HELP!! :-(

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    What version of DM did you download? Have you tried rebooting your PC?

  3. #3
    drspiff's Avatar
    drspiff no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    44
    download deskstop software 4.3 directly from blackberry.com
    I do what I can...

  4. #4
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    download.com took me directly to the BB website..so that is where I DLed it from. I used the most recent one.

  5. #5
    Krazy Kat's Avatar
    Krazy Kat no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    169
    Also, do you have your phones OS installed on your computer? To check go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared
    You should see another folder called Loader Files. If not then you need to install this as well. You can get this from www.blackberry.com also.
    Install your phones OS (probably 4.3)
    Install Destop Manager (also 4.3)
    Reboot your computer to complete installation.

  6. #6
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Krazy Kat View Post
    Also, do you have your phones OS installed on your computer? To check go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared
    You should see another folder called Loader Files. If not then you need to install this as well. You can get this from www.blackberry.com also.
    Install your phones OS (probably 4.3)
    Install Destop Manager (also 4.3)
    Reboot your computer to complete installation.

    am I supposed to Download these to my PC or phone?

  7. #7
    Krazy Kat's Avatar
    Krazy Kat no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by xrockyhorrorsx View Post
    am I supposed to Download these to my PC or phone?
    You need to download and install both to your PC. Then reboot. It should take care of the problem. Just do it in the order of my other post.

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually before you get too deep into more downloads I dont think that the OS is your issue...

    Lets confirm, you have installed Desktop Manager 4.5 (?) on your PC, but when you launch the DM with your device connected and charged and turned on, the DM shows "disconnected".

    Also please confirm that you do not see the BBerry listed under USB devices in your control panel/ device manager?

    Does the device otherwise work fine?
    Are you running on Vista or XP?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Actually before you get too deep into more downloads I dont think that the OS is your issue...

    Lets confirm, you have installed Desktop Manager 4.5 (?) on your PC, but when you launch the DM with your device connected and charged and turned on, the DM shows "disconnected".

    Also please confirm that you do not see the BBerry listed under USB devices in your control panel/ device manager?

    Does the device otherwise work fine?
    Are you running on Vista or XP?

    when it is connected it is not displayed under usb devices in my computer. im running xp. what do you mean by the device working fine?I have no issues with the BB...minus this situation

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Ok, lets try this.

    Go to this link and downlaod and install the USB drivers (you will find them on the pull down menu):

    Download Desktop Manager from RIM (I still prefer 4.3 over 4.5)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Ok, lets try this.

    Go to this link and downlaod and install the USB drivers (you will find them on the pull down menu):

    Download Desktop Manager from RIM (I still prefer 4.3 over 4.5)

    there are none for english on there..

  12. #12
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    im just downloading the esp one... is there any certain file it needs to be dled to?

  13. #13
    xrockyhorrorsx's Avatar
    xrockyhorrorsx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    im dowloading the drivers in spanish...will this affect anything??? lol

  14. #14
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Well...you are correct - interesting as they have been there in the past but I dont think the language will affect anything....lets see. The problem here is that your desktop does not appear to recognize the device. If the device is working, the cable is good and the USB port is good (youre not using a usb hub are you??) then the drivers may be corrupt.

    Keep us updated.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #15
    TATTOO82's Avatar
    TATTOO82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    41
    I Had That Problem To But My Problem Was That I Wasnt Under The Administrator When I Downloade 4.5 And It Would Only Read In The Admin Screen So I Had To Go To It And Open It For Everyone To Use And Then It Worked Fine Under My Account

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •