Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hi, I thought I would try and upgrade my TMO Pearl with the latest OS. ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    ohbuggerit2k's Avatar
    ohbuggerit2k no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Help - 507 Error Screen

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I thought I would try and upgrade my TMO Pearl with the latest OS. Got about 2 minutes into the upgrade and the screen went white with a 507 appearing below a circle with a biox in it with a small square, triangle and circle in it. The whole lot has a line through it.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    Hello and welcome to pinstack. Basically you are at the point where the BB does not have any OS on it. Are you still plugged in, if so let the upgrade finish.

    If not then you can run the desktop manager again and you will then have to load the OS.

    Let us know if we can help you further.

  3. #3
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    Welcome to Pinstack!
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ice_error.html this also relates to the 507 error.

  4. #4
    ohbuggerit2k's Avatar
    ohbuggerit2k no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs down Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    Hi and thanks for the rapid response.

    THe problem I have is that the original install came up with an unable to finish message.

    Now the Pearl will not re-connect to the connection manager or desktop manager. It simply refuses to connect. If I select USB from connection settings it comes back with No Device Found!!:cry: :cry:

  5. #5
    ohbuggerit2k's Avatar
    ohbuggerit2k no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    Guys,

    A big thank you.

    It's re-installing as I type.

  6. #6
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    good to hear

    let us know if you run into anymore problems. lets hope not

  7. #7
    tree_trunks's Avatar
    tree_trunks no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    So how about if the Pearl isn't recognized through desktop manager (USB) and I have a 507 error... then what?

    Any guidance is thoroughly appreciated!

  8. #8
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    Quote Originally Posted by tree_trunks
    So how about if the Pearl isn't recognized through desktop manager (USB) and I have a 507 error... then what?

    Any guidance is thoroughly appreciated!
    Tree trunks, it looks like you're going to follow this procedure to get your BB up and running again: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com..._step_fix.html. Let us know how you make out.

  9. #9
    tree_trunks's Avatar
    tree_trunks no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    I've tried the JVM 102 Error fix, but it does not recognize the device as being connected. I tried the direct command line approach and my 8100 is still not detected. It returns this error message "Connecting to device...Error: unable to open port."

    DM will not recognize it no matter if going through Options>Communication Settings or if I go the App loader and tell it to detect.

    If I follow the directions on the link for ReInstalling OS when the computer won't recognize, I get stuck at #6 since it NEVER recognizes my 8100 as being connected.

    I have tried SEVERAL cable connection strategies and detection "button" pressing orders and detection check box + pressing Next in DM screen on top of different cable connection timing when using JL_cmder... Also, my USB cable(s) are working with other devices, so it is not the cable(s)...

    When I plug in the USB cable with the battery removed, the indicator lights up a solid red for a few seconds, then the screen lights up with a battery with a slash mark through it, then they both go off. If I insert the battery, I go to a white screen with the 507 error.

    Cliff Notes: Neither DM or JL_cmder can detect my 8100 to even get me started on a ReInstall...
    Last edited by tree_trunks; 01-15-2007 at 01:02 AM.

  10. #10
    tree_trunks's Avatar
    tree_trunks no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    OK here is what I found in my case: With the original DM installation, it never detected my device. In order to get my device detected, I removed DM, removed handheld OS from my PC, cleaned the registry of all BB data and rebooted. With no BB installed, Windows all of a sudden could recognize my 8100 (with the battery removed). My 8100 is now a recognized device. I then followed the rest of JVM Error 102 Steps and the Hot To: ReInstall OS thread.

    So in order to even begin to follow these threads I:
    1. Removed Desktop Manager
    2. Removed Handheld OS files from PC
    3. Removed Registry Entries for any BlackBerry software
    4. Rebooted my PC
    5. Removed my Battery
    6. Connected 8100 to PC, Windows recognized it, then I disconnected it.
    7. Re-Installed Desktop Manager 4.2 but did not run
    8. Re-Installed 4.22.0.88 OS
    9. Re-Installed JL_cmder
    10. Reconnected 8100 to USB cable
    11. Ran JL_cmder in command line mode per previous threads to wipe
    12. Ran DM and Application Loader

    Note: You don't realize how addictive these things are until you can't use 'em anymore...

    Cliff Notes: It's working again!! Workaround listed
    Last edited by tree_trunks; 01-15-2007 at 02:59 AM.

  11. #11
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    So, you are up and running on your Pearl now?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  12. #12
    tree_trunks's Avatar
    tree_trunks no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Help - 507 Error Screen

    Yup!

    This forum was invaluable!! Thanks to all the contributors and also for being so newb friendly! In retospect, searching should have been more thoroughly used.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •