Results 1 to 9 of 9

I have been having this issues for weeks, Every time I try to update to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    llama-king's Avatar
    llama-king no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19

    Having alot of problems upgrading to OS 4.5

    Advertisement



    I have been having this issues for weeks, Every time I try to update to 4.5 I follow the guide on how to do so. But the first thing I notice is there is no vendor.xml File. "Navigate to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader" The next problem is with the last instruction giving as I quoted above. My RIM File Isn't located in commen files. It's located in Program files(x86). But there is no "AppLoader" File or folder. So I figured it was a problem with Desktop manager. So I installed 4.6 From Rim's website after reading about the problems with 4.7. But sitll no luck on locating the Vendor.Xml folder. I checked to make sure I only have 1 4.5 Installed on my computer which I do. So now I'm at a brick wall. I have tried to read every forum and guide but have been unsuccessful in getting 4.5 on my Blackberry 8110(AT&T) So any help would be nice.
    Thanks in advance

    ~llama-king~

  2. #2
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Make sure that you have your PC setup to "show ALL files".
    It will then show you any hidden files and folders.

    Open your C: drive/click on tools tab/then folder options/click the view tab/ check the following: show hidden files and folders.

    If you want, you can also UN-check: Hide protected operating system files and Hide extensions for known file types.

    Then go look for the folders and files that may have been hidden from you.
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  3. #3
    llama-king's Avatar
    llama-king no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Hello.
    I tried Looking through the hidden files. But It wasn't there.
    Anything else i should be looking for?

    One other thing i noticed doing some more reserch, Some people have had problems using Desktop manager with windows vista. But I still haven't found someone with the same problem as me. So any help is still much appreciated =]

    ~llama-king~

  4. #4
    dgburns's Avatar
    dgburns no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    191
    I am running Vista Ultimate and using Desktop Manager 4.7 with no problems. 32 but Vista, NOT 64 bit.
    When I run a device software install, it installs in Common Files as expected.

    Remove all Blackberry you have installed on your PC. Make SURE the 4.5 you are loading is a 4.5 for the 8110. Install it. Find the App Loader directory and delete vendor.xml. The use loader.exe in that same folder to do your upgrade.

    If you aren't seeing these files, you don't have you folder options set as indicated above and need to fix that first.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    llama-king's Avatar
    llama-king no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Hi
    I have Done everything you have instructed countless times before, The 4.5 Update is for the 8110, The app loader directory Is still missing after i uninstalled 4.6 again.
    I have also uninstalled the 4.5 update. And if you mean show all hidden files by saying "Folder options as indicated above" That has also been done.
    I am running windows 64 Bit But after reading more that doesn't seem to be a problem.

    Thanks to the people who have already tried to help


    ~llama-king~

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    llama - king,

    After your download the new operating system to your PC, are you then executing the file you downloaded (which installs it on your PC)?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    llama-king's Avatar
    llama-king no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    llama - king,

    After your download the new operating system to your PC, are you then executing the file you downloaded (which installs it on your PC)?
    Yes, I use the install wizard the minute it's done downloading.

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Does the OS show up in your list of installed programs in Control Panel?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    llama-king's Avatar
    llama-king no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Yes It does.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •