Results 1 to 14 of 14

I'm having serious trouble on getting my Pearl 8100 working. My last resource is to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    tecnoworldgk's Avatar
    tecnoworldgk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204CD319
    Posts
    16

    Question Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Advertisement



    I'm having serious trouble on getting my Pearl 8100 working. My last resource is to do a Hard Reset & hope that I can start making phone-calls.

    Can someone help me on how can I do a hard reset on a BB Pearl 8100?

  2. #2
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Silly question #1: Did you make sure that the radio is turned on? (i.e., do you have a signal icon on the screen?) When it first starts up, I believe that the radio will default to off. I don't have a Pearl in front of me, but there should be an icon in a menu to turn the radio on. (If you already thought of this, sorry.)

    Simple way to hard reset most devices is to just pop out the battery, wait a few seconds, and replace it.

  3. #3
    tecnoworldgk's Avatar
    tecnoworldgk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204CD319
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Tks! Actually the Radio it's turn on. It appears GSM & switch to "edge". I have try taking the battery out & still I'm not able to make phone calls.

  4. #4
    tecnoworldgk's Avatar
    tecnoworldgk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204CD319
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Anyone can help me?

  5. #5
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    At this point, I'd give a call (presumably on another phone!) to your carrier. It could be that you aren't properly provisioned.

  6. #6
    sanfrancisco's Avatar
    sanfrancisco no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    568

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    See my other posts. I assume you mean to "reformat" the Pearl, not to simply reset it.

    That's called "wipe handheld" on the Pearl.

    Go to

    <options>

    click trackball

    <security options>

    click trackball

    <general settings>

    click trackball

    click <menu> key while in general settings [menu key is dotted key to left of trackball]

    highlight <wipe handheld>

    click trackball and follow prompts.

    Quote Originally Posted by tecnoworldgk
    I'm having serious trouble on getting my Pearl 8100 working. My last resource is to do a Hard Reset & hope that I can start making phone-calls.

    Can someone help me on how can I do a hard reset on a BB Pearl 8100?

  7. #7
    tecnoworldgk's Avatar
    tecnoworldgk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204CD319
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by sanfrancisco
    See my other posts. I assume you mean to "reformat" the Pearl, not to simply reset it.

    That's called "wipe handheld" on the Pearl.

    Go to

    <options>

    click trackball

    <security options>

    click trackball

    <general settings>

    click trackball

    click <menu> key while in general settings [menu key is dotted key to left of trackball]

    highlight <wipe handheld>

    click trackball and follow prompts.
    sanfrancisco: Note that I've done that procedure & still I'm not able to make Phone Calls propertly. I connect to the carriers network but the phone send and error saying "call failed".

  8. #8
    sanfrancisco's Avatar
    sanfrancisco no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    568

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by tecnoworldgk
    sanfrancisco: Note that I've done that procedure & still I'm not able to make Phone Calls propertly. I connect to the carriers network but the phone send and error saying "call failed".
    Well I was just answering you multiple posts on how to do a hard reset as I thought that is what you were asking.

    I don't know anything about using unlocked phones in Central America. Sorry.

  9. #9
    echeco's Avatar
    echeco no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    14

    Question Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by sanfrancisco
    See my other posts. I assume you mean to "reformat" the Pearl, not to simply reset it.

    That's called "wipe handheld" on the Pearl.

    Go to

    <options>

    click trackball

    <security options>

    click trackball

    <general settings>

    click trackball

    click <menu> key while in general settings [menu key is dotted key to left of trackball]

    highlight <wipe handheld>

    click trackball and follow prompts.
    This procedure put the bb back on his original state???

  10. #10
    Mona7's Avatar
    Mona7 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    To restart your pearl:
    SOFT RESTART:
    press alt + shift + delete all at the same time.

    But I usually just take off the batery and put it back in to restart..

    I hope it helps.

  11. #11
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Do you have a data-only-plan?

  12. #12
    XeoNoX's Avatar
    XeoNoX no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Hard-Reset Pearl 8100

    i had the same problem, i just replaced the earpeice and everything worked fine. check here for more info http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...udspeaker.html

  13. #13
    royeiror's Avatar
    royeiror no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    208C2087
    Posts
    43
    Maybe try using another SIM from the same provider.. could be that the original SIM is not authorized for some reason

  14. #14
    MilitaryPawn's Avatar
    MilitaryPawn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11
    When I turn my pearl on I get the error Uncaught exception: java.lang.ClassCastException, and it wont go away so I can't do anything else. I know I need to hard reset the phone but my problem gets worse. My USB port is broken so I can't plug it into my computer and because I can't click anything I can't set up the bluetooth to do it that way. Is there any way to reset the phone using the microSD card, like some kind of self extracting reset file or something? I couldn't find anything on Google. Please help! I don't know what else to do!?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •