Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

I recently have been trying to load .gif images on some websites and they won't ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    getting gifs to load?

    Advertisement



    I recently have been trying to load .gif images on some websites and they won't display like they used to. When I go to the page with the image it just appears as alittle blackberry device icon. And I can't click on it either. I am on the Italy pa release and didn't have a problem loading them before. But I am not sure if I am missing a option in my blackberry browser or something. I even tried using opera mini with no luck as well. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    You sure they are gif I know they work for viewing but not for wallpapers maybe a hard reset?

  3. #3
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Yeah they are .gifs, sometimes they are large files but nothing above 5meg so far I have seen. I guess its not a big deal more of a quirk.

    I am just viewing them on a webpage, not trying to use them as a wallpaper.

  4. #4
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Yeah I've tried hard resets. Not sure what the problem is?

  5. #5
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    maybe something is screwy in your browser's service book? try going to advanced options, deleting it and resending.

  6. #6
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Which one do I delete? T-Mobile USA WAP Browser Config, or Blackberry internet browsing service?

    And then to resend, I just re-register with the bold one under host routing table correct?

  7. #7
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    BB internet browsing service, but you can delete both to be sure (i've never heard of a gif problem) then reregister with the bold one, correct. follow it with a 30s battery pull. sometimes the browser may not reappear immediately and require another one.

  8. #8
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Well I just deleted it, and have yet for it to ask if I can download it again. I've done 12 battery pulls so far and nothing....

    The deleting of the BB Internet Browsing Service is not a good idea..

  9. #9
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Anyone know how I can get my browser back please?

  10. #10
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gundy
    Anyone know how I can get my browser back please?
    Gundy u will probably need to do a master reset.

    Connect your device via USB, open your DM and go to "Backup & Restore" then hit "Backup" and choose a location where u want the file to be saved (my documents, desktop, etc) What it will do is save ALL of your data from the pearl everything from your background pic to your calendar to your media. Ones u done that unplug your device and go to Options/Security Options/General Settings/Hit menu and then select Wipe handheld. This will restore your phone to its original point. Go through the process, it will delete everything but dont worry u saved a file on your PC. After everything is done, plug you device back in, open DM and go to "Backup Restore" and this time hit "Restore" then locate the files u saved and click continue until it starts proccessing.

    This will restore everything and bring ALL of your data back. U might also run the set up wizard ones the restore thing is done and your phone went back on.

    One last thing, when everything is finished, on your device go to Options/Advanced Options/Host Routing Table and select the one in bold, then hit menu/register now.

    Im sure this will bring everything back and your browser. Its not as long of a process as it seems.

    Hope this helps!

  11. #11
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Whew what a mess, thanks Peter for the instructions. I was able to get everything back even my browser, however if it was this extensive I wouldn't have deleted it! Thanks again!

    And I still can't view .gifs .

    Is there a special setting in my browser I am missing?

  12. #12
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    The file .gif should work. I really dont know why they dont, hope someone will help you out!

  13. #13
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    I hope so, now I can see some of them ; but almost all of them don't load. Just that little black berry icon where the image should be.. Maybe the image is to large?

  14. #14
    Gundy's Avatar
    Gundy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E4F5C6
    Posts
    52

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Seems to be linked to how large the files are. If I set my browser settings to load "Lower" quality images I can see the gifs, however if I set it to "Medium" or "High" quality they don't even load.

    Is there a setting to change to allow it to load the entire image no matter how big it is?

  15. #15
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: getting gifs to load?

    Try going to browser/menu/options/browser configuration

    Try these settings:

    Unable:
    Support JavaScript
    Support Style sheets
    Support embedded media

    Show images: choose "On WML & HTML Pages"
    Emulation Mode: choose "Blackberry"
    Content Mode: choose "WML & HTML

    then save

    See if that helps

    PS U might be right about the larger sizes thou

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •