Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

So I had my 8100 without a data plan. I decided to upgrade it to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    alados's Avatar
    alados no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Free Data Plan?

    Advertisement



    So I had my 8100 without a data plan. I decided to upgrade it to a new OS and now I can normally browse the internet. I haven't tried to receive/send e-mails. I wanted to know, is this normal?

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    how are you browsing the net? with the BB browser or the WAP browser?

  3. #3
    alados's Avatar
    alados no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    Sorry, i am somewhat new to this, how can I difference which browser I am using?

  4. #4
    ssjason's Avatar
    ssjason no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    243e1873
    Posts
    378

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Are you on your carriers version of the internet or the actual browser? Which icon do you click on?

  5. #5
    alados's Avatar
    alados no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    I click the "browser" option. I got a newer OS version than my carrier BTW.

  6. #6
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    are you sure you dont have a data plan?

  7. #7
    alados's Avatar
    alados no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    Totaly sure. This is weird.

  8. #8
    BombaMyte's Avatar
    BombaMyte no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    240B992D
    Posts
    56

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    If you're with AT&T, you're using PPU, or pay per use. At .01/kb, that can rack up.
    ~via BombaBerry (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    yea might not want to use it...better talk to CS before your bill turns into 3 million dollars

  10. #10
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    ^^LOL @ Red Yes, Pay per use can become quite costly. Definitely contact your carrier and look into getting a data plan. It will be much less expensive.
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  11. #11
    kane's Avatar
    kane no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    30349623
    Posts
    849

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    just when you think your stickin it to the man BAM you get your bill and you see who has the last laugh

  12. #12
    truehybridx's Avatar
    truehybridx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    204CE603
    Posts
    7

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    if your on t-mobile you might be slipping past the security through t-zones.... thats wht my dash did before it broke and i traded for a pearl

  13. #13
    cabron's Avatar
    cabron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2466A9E4
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by alados View Post
    I click the "browser" option. I got a newer OS version than my carrier BTW.
    When I updated os on my pearl a couple months ago it gave me a media net browser, wich wasn't available before.
    That type of browswer uses pay per use data if you don't have a plan, you will not be able to send emails from your device because you don't have a blackberry plan.
    I see you are in chile, if you are on a contract for your cell then be carefull as you will most likely be billed very expensive for the use of data, if you are on pre paid, I guess you will just run out of credit.
    Some carriers have data plans for chap not necessarily a blackberry plan you could take advantage of that if the blackberry plan is too expensive.
    You could also try using the mini opera broser.
    -cabron

  14. #14
    droopie's Avatar
    droopie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    35

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    i have heard if you set up ur tcp settings on verizon you can use free internet on proxys. old tho dunno if it works still.

  15. #15
    wrcSTI's Avatar
    wrcSTI no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Free Data Plan?

    Out of curiosity, how does mini opera browser work?? Do I still get charged per kb? I am with Rogers network in canada

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •