Results 1 to 13 of 13

Here is the deal... I woke up and my 8100c was doing a 5 red ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Advertisement



    Here is the deal... I woke up and my 8100c was doing a 5 red led flash, pause, then five again, and repeat. I had read the forums and tried using the command prompt remedy that acnst provided, which was very conscise and informative, however it did not remedy my situation. I went as far as calling 611 and talking to a data specialist, who told me that she had never heard of this and after telling her what I read here she informed me that blackberryforums has helped more customers often than not, and then gave me RIM's 800 # (as of now I have not called) At anyrate, I bought a curve, which I love by the way, but want my pearl to work so I can have a back up and/or give it to my girl... Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am pretty sure my Pearl's road has ended here:< Thanks to you all in advance! "D"

  2. #2
    Lum's Avatar
    Lum
    Lum no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    32

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    One, this is not "blackberryforums.com" this is blackberryforums.pinstack.com.

    Have you used jl_cmder to connect to your device, and wipe it and isntall the OS?

  3. #3
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    My apologies, I shortened the whole deal by writing blackberry forums, leaving out the pinstack.com, but I assure you I ref'd this site when talking to the AT&T rep. Anyhow, I am not sure on the correct way about going about what you suggest... or... I may have tried and was unsuccessful... I am a bit dizzy as to what is going on with my berry or where to begin fixing it... I will tell you my computer (desktop manager) has no idea it is connected, nor does it show USB:UNKNOWN or USB:BBPIN, it shows COM3... I am in a hole kids, and I need a ladder... Again, Thank You's in advance!

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Last edited by reddog187; 02-04-2008 at 01:16 AM.

  5. #5
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    So far, no good... I followed the walkthrough, however when in "connection settings" I have no USB:UNKNOWNPIN... Only COM3, I was beginning to wonder if I had a USB problem with my computer, however my Curve has no problems doing what is supposed to.. I am at a loss, is this the end, I have heard buzz that my berry is fried and will go to berry heaven... Any help welcomed. Thank You!

  6. #6
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Do call RIM. They proved to be highly knowledgable when I called them a few months ago, and conscientious in following up and making sure everything was back to OK.

  7. #7
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Lightbulb Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Hold the phone!!! (not literally) I have got my PC to recognize the handset via the USB:UNKNOWPIN command from reddog187's post... I figured I would give it one last try and I'll be damned if it didn't recognize it... Now here is the new problem, It loads the JVM and System Software in it's enitirety, but when it gets to Waiting for Device to Initialize, it seems to stall out. Now it may be that my device is not charged (no way of telling obviously) so I am going to leave it on charge overnight and see if tomorrow doesn't bring the little fella back to life... I am going to take reddog187's advice that it may fail a few times and not to worry... I will keep everyone updated... In the mean time, has anyone experienced this when following the walkthrough? I hope this works, at any rate it is progress and I like that there is still a chance!

  8. #8
    dethseeker90's Avatar
    dethseeker90 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    call ur phone service provider and get it replaced

  9. #9
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    That would be a great idea, but I forgot to mention warranty conveniently ended in January

  10. #10
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Thumbs down Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Here is my update: (trying to be patient, but not doing so well with that)

    The progress I have made with this issue is:

    I can get App Loader to recognize my device through the USB:UNKNOWNPIN avenue. However when I try to install the new operating system (without all of the extras, i.e. brickbreaker, tasks, etc., it would stall out when trying to initialize the device...

    The new dialog box I receive states the following;

    UNABLE TO COMPLETE THE LOADING OPERATION
    Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi-stage load operation...

    I am thinking that this is the end. I had gone ahead and called AT&T warranty exchange for the hell of it and they said that a) They could give me the same device, and b) it would "ONLY" be 250.00US... I respectfully declined.

    This is the most odd thing to me as I am not a techie, but I can follow direction and consider my self to be above average when it comes to this type of thing. I was wrong, I am at a dead end and can only hope a insightful, somewhat genius stacker will come to my aid.

    Thanks to all that have taken the time to help thus far, "D".

  11. #11
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Yes, as red says you may have to follow the thread several times before it will work.
    Also, you must be sure to follow it exactly step by step or it won't work.
    If that still doesn't work, let us know.
    Be patient and hang in there, I know it's frustrating...

  12. #12
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    Lava,

    I have been very patient , however I began to get a little upset UNTIL your post...

    After you said to make sure you follow the direcions carefully, I realized that the only way I could get my PC to recognize my device as USB:UNKNOWNPIN was to actually launch the App Loader itself... The directions clearly state to do this in connection settings, as which I have had no luck... It says to wait a while, and I have for quite some time, but still nothing... Even used the Detect before and after waiting forever and still nothing... I am wondering if this would matter as DM is erasing and loading, or at least attempting to, my software... This is more confusing than my girlfriend...

    Let me know if this is a imperative step in the process or if my berry is F'ed...

    Thank you Soooooo much!!! "D"

  13. #13
    adiosi's Avatar
    adiosi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question Re: Flashing red LED/No Boot (Tried the acnst approach, no luck)

    OK, he also says after the 3rd time try a wipe...

    I used JL_CMDR v1.9.0

    and it wouldn't connect to my device.
    or...
    it would act like it did it's job (after typin BLACKBERRY)...

    I am convinced it's a lost cause, but I don't wanna believe it...

    THX AGAIN

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •