Results 1 to 9 of 9

I have been noticing many threads mentioning to delete the vendor file. Is this only ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Angryjeff's Avatar
    Angryjeff no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8

    Firmware Update...

    Advertisement



    I have been noticing many threads mentioning to delete the vendor file. Is this only if you are using an update that is not from your specific carrier or do you have to do it regardless? I'm not a complete retard I hope, so after I know that I'm sure I can walk myself through the rest of the firmware steps once I pop open this exe file! I think?

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    You only delete the vendor file on OS that you are installing from other-than your carrier. Any OS works as long as it is for your device.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    Angryjeff's Avatar
    Angryjeff no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Well, as it turns out I am a retard...I ran the exe and all it does is give me an option to repair and does nothing to the phone. Ah well, firmware upgrade just wasn't meant to be...

  4. #4
    dvst8ion's Avatar
    dvst8ion no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    182
    There is usually a box that asks you if you want to change os's as soon as you launch the BBDescktop app unless the os you are trying to load is either an older os or the same build from a different vendor?
    Once you go Black(berry) you'll never go back!!!

  5. #5
    Angryjeff's Avatar
    Angryjeff no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Well, I downloaded all the necessary Telus files when I originally installed the desktop manager...and this is still supposed to be the newest telus one, but I guess it's not new enough! :P

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Angry,

    No worries...I bet we can walk you through it. Lets see where you are right now....

    First of all do you have Desktop Manager installed and working on your desktop? What Version?

    Now, did you download the new Device Operating System you want to install from Telus? After you downloaded did you also install /extract it? Is your old Device Operating System also on your desktop?

    What is your current OS version (Options, About), and what is the new version you want to install?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    you just need to delete the vendor.xml file and then you can install any carriers OS for your device.

  8. #8
    fsjon's Avatar
    fsjon no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    i just tried updating my firmware from 4.2.0.51 to 4.2.1.94....it all went smoothly, downloaded the firmware, installed it onto my computer, delete the vendor.xlm, backup and update os....half way through it, where it reconnect to the jvm(what ever that is) it gave me an error saying it cannot connect to my device. on the display of the device, 8100 with t-mobile, it has an icon with a line across it against a white screen. note, my phone is unlocked when i got it, is it why it is 'brick' now? cause i tried pulling the battery out and try to reconnect it to my desktop manger so i can restore it, but since the phone does not go past the white screen with an icon in the middle of it, sol.

    can anyone give me a hand here? or do i have to send it in somewhere to get it service??

  9. #9
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    Note: If you are connecting via a USB HUB then these instructions may not work. Try connecting via USB on a PC that is not using a HUB


    1. Disconnect the device from the PC
    2. Download and install Desktop Manager and the Handheld OS to the PC (if they have not already been installed):



    1. Start a Command Prompt in DOS from the PC (Start >> All Programs >> Accessories >> Command Prompt)
    2. Change the directory to: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    • If you do not know how to navigate to this directory follow instructions in 2a)
    2a) From C:\ prompt type: cd Program Files <hit enter> cd Common Files <hit enter> cd Research In Motion <hit enter> cd AppLoader <hit enter>3. Make sure Desktop Manager is not running
    4. Connect BlackBerry to the PC
    5. Enter the following command in the Command Prompt window:
    loader.exe /nojvm

    1. The Application Loader Wizard window will open
    2. Click on Next
    3. You will get a drop down list with the COM ports and one USB port entry
    4. Select the one which says USB:UNKNOWN
    • If you do not see USB:UNKNOWN or USB:BBPIN, then follow instructions listed in a1-a5:
    a1) Disconnect the device from the PC. a2) Keep the Application Loader Wizard window open a3) Remove the battery and put it back a4) While the red led is on, reconnect the device to the PC. The led will only stay on for a few seconds a5) When USB:UNKNOWN appears in the drop down list, you need to immediately select Next


    5. The loader should now connect to your device and you will be able to reinstall the OS


    Hope that works

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •