Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~anyone have any luck with a mac yet?... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    ts's Avatar
    ts
    ts no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B0A32
    Posts
    32

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    Advertisement



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~anyone have any luck with a mac yet?

  2. #17
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by merlik
    Ok, I exported it calling the file address.csv and then opened it with Open Office Calc which is a free spreadsheet program and everything worked great. Just make sure to save it as a .csv file after editing as well.
    I used this method and it seems to be working out well. I good alternative to those who don't wish to spend a few hundred bucks on Bill Gates monopolistic Office Productivity Suite.

    Good looking out guys.
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  3. #18
    buckeyefan's Avatar
    buckeyefan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    19

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    TMO 8100

  4. #19
    atarimaster's Avatar
    atarimaster no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~interesting

  5. #20
    bhavik23's Avatar
    bhavik23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    I had a similar question....but not sure of wat I need to do..I jst got a pearl last week..so am quite new at this..i had all my contacts stored on my sim with just the phone numbers..I need to add an email address for most of them and the obvious and easy way of doing this would be on the PC..so will I be able to sync my BB to outlook and get the contacts of the sim on the PC as well..? How do I trasnfer my contacts from sim to the BB address book or does it happen by default..coz in the options for address book i saw load sim contacts...which in my case are the same..as i havent added any new contacts to the BB yet...
    Thanks in advance...!!

  6. #21
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    Use the Load SIM Contacts to transfer them. After that is done you can use Desktop Manager (DM) to sync them to one of the DM Compatible PIMs for editing and resyncing.

    hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #22
    bhavik23's Avatar
    bhavik23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    Thanks...I backed up the data and get the file as a .ipd file...How do I open this file such that I can see the contacts and add email info for them..

    Is there some way I can open the phone address book in outlook, add emails to the contact info and move it back to the phone..

    I would appreciate..if i m given brief steps for this..this is my first BB and its only been a week i have been using it...so sorry for the ignorance~!

  8. #23
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    If you have Outlook, use the Syncronize command in Desktop Manager. It's made for that. Go to the Configuration Tab after opening Syncronize and set up you Sync Configuration to sync with your BB. Make sure the setting if for Sync, This will copy all your contacts on your BB to your Outlook and all your contacts in Outlook to your BB.

    hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  9. #24
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Outlook sync is indeed much simpler. Too bad that RIM is not too open-source friendly (ie OpenOffice). Oh well, maybe one day.

  10. #25
    bhavik23's Avatar
    bhavik23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    I tried doing that...when I hit ok..after setting the configuration settings...I dont see any dialog box that tells me if its done..or something..also I haev some contacts in my outlook already...and I do not see the new ones that I have stored up on my phone appear on the contacts page..in Outlook..so I m not sure if they are getting sync'ed?

    what field in the outlook correspond to the email address on the BB..? Is it the IM address?

    Thanks!

  11. #26
    bhavik23's Avatar
    bhavik23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    K i got it..!! Got all my contacts sync'ed up..and also found the email field..!!

    Thanks for all the help!!!

  12. #27
    HDL's Avatar
    HDL
    HDL no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Editing address book on computer.

    I just got the Curve 8300. I don't have Outlook on my computer - but do have Vista. I can't get the desktop set up. It keeps telling me "The file or database name associated with ASCII importer/exporter is missing, invalid, or points to a file of zero length. Use the browse button to locate the file or data base." I don't know where to locate it. HELP!!!!

  13. #28
    Rviau345's Avatar
    Rviau345 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Re: Editing address book on computer.

    Does anyone know how to fix the Blackberry Desktop Software ?
    After installing Blackberry Desktop Manager for the first time, the following error appears
    when you try to start the application: Invalid command line parameters: usage Desktpmgr
    [\record {destination directory for recorded settings}].

    Do you think cause of Microsoft Windows added command line switches to the Desktopmgr.exe file during installation? please let me know how can I fix it. I was tried followed the instruction to Resolution,
    but it failed, and also I was tried Workaround to set up a batch file to start Desktop Manager and
    it still failed. This show the error messages below:


    DesktopMgr caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
    in module DesktopMgr.exe at 001b:00000000 CurrentThread:000010E4.

    Exception handler called in Desktop.
    Error occurred at 10/29/2007 23:06:50.
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\DesktopMgr.exe, run by Robert Viau.
    Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600).
    1 processor(s), type 586.
    82% memory in use.
    512 MBytes physical memory.
    91 MBytes physical memory free.
    1250 MBytes paging file.
    874 MBytes paging file free.
    2048 MBytes user address space.
    2000 MBytes user address space free.
    Read from location 00000000 caused an access violation.

    Context:
    EDI: 0x0012ed6c ESI: 0x003489d0 EAX: 0x00181fe0
    EBX: 0x0012eda8 ECX: 0x003489d0 EDX: 0x7c90eb94
    EIP: 0x00000000 EBP: 0x00d2ff6c SegCs: 0x0000001b
    EFlags: 0x00010246 ESP: 0x00d2ff30 SegSs: 0x00000023

    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ??

    Stack:
    0x00d2ff30: 00411160 00000001 0012e788 0012ed6c `.A.........l...
    0x00d2ff40: 003466f8 00000000 00000000 000010e4 .f4.............
    0x00d2ff50: 00450ee8 00000003 00504a6c 000010e4 ..E.....lJP.....
    0x00d2ff60: 0012ed74 0012eda4 00348a30 00d2ffac t.......0.4.....
    0x00d2ff70: 00439d67 003466f8 004aab58 0012ed6c g.C..f4.X.J.l...
    0x00d2ff80: 1b3ed711 0012e788 003466f8 003466f8 ..>......f4..f4.
    0x00d2ff90: c0000005 00d2ff80 00d2fb58 00d2ffdc ........X.......
    0x00d2ffa0: 004aaee0 1bbe7aad 00000000 00d2ffec ..J..z..........
    0x00d2ffb0: 004aabfd 00000020 7c80b683 003466f8 ..J. ......|.f4.
    0x00d2ffc0: 0012e788 00000020 003466f8 7ffde000 .... ....f4.....
    0x00d2ffd0: 82fc3600 00d2ffc0 82ebffa8 ffffffff .6..............
    0x00d2ffe0: 7c839aa8 7c80b690 00000000 00000000 ...|...|........
    0x00d2fff0: 00000000 004aab7e 003466f8 00000000 ....~.J..f4.....



    Module 2
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\DesktopMgr.exe
    Image Base: 0x00400000 Image Size: 0x0013f000
    Checksum: 0x00141be3 Time Stamp: 0x4630d383
    File Size: 1283608 File Time: 5/2/2007 08:24:42
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: Desktop Tools for RIM Handhelds
    FileDesc: BlackBerry Desktop Manager
    FileVer: 4.2.2.14
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.14





    Module 5
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\RIMDeviceManager\RIMDeviceManagerps.dll
    Image Base: 0x10000000 Image Size: 0x00008000
    Checksum: 0x0000f385 Time Stamp: 0x461ff3b7
    File Size: 17944 File Time: 4/13/2007 17:19:54
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: RIM Handheld Communications Manager
    FileDesc: RIM Handheld Communications Manager Proxy
    FileVer: 4.2.2.10
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.10

    Module 6
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\BackupRestore.dll
    Image Base: 0x10000000 Image Size: 0x00079000
    Checksum: 0x0007cd6d Time Stamp: 0x4630d262
    File Size: 476696 File Time: 5/2/2007 08:24:38
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: Desktop Tools for RIM Handhelds
    FileDesc: Backup and Restore Desktop Extension
    FileVer: 4.2.2.14
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.14

    Module 7
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\DeviceOptions.dll
    Image Base: 0x10000000 Image Size: 0x0006a000
    Checksum: 0x00071504 Time Stamp: 0x4630d26e
    File Size: 415256 File Time: 5/2/2007 08:24:40
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: Desktop Tools for RIM Handhelds
    FileDesc: Device Options Management Extension
    FileVer: 4.2.2.14
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.14

    Module 8
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\MultimediaManager.dll
    Image Base: 0x10000000 Image Size: 0x0009f000
    Checksum: 0x000a6ba5 Time Stamp: 0x4630d293
    File Size: 640536 File Time: 5/2/2007 08:24:44
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: Desktop Tools for RIM Handhelds
    FileDesc: Media Manager Desktop Extension
    FileVer: 4.2.2.14
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.14

    Module 9
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\DeviceSwitch.dll
    Image Base: 0x10000000 Image Size: 0x00048000
    Checksum: 0x0004f7ff Time Stamp: 0x4630d279
    File Size: 280088 File Time: 5/2/2007 08:24:40
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: Desktop Tools for RIM Handhelds
    FileDesc: Device Switch Desktop Extension
    FileVer: 4.2.2.14
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.14

    Module 10
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\product.dll
    Image Base: 0x10000000 Image Size: 0x0020b000
    Checksum: 0x0021710c Time Stamp: 0x4630d1f6
    File Size: 2147864 File Time: 5/2/2007 08:24:44
    Version Information:
    Company: Research In Motion Limited
    Product: BlackBerry Desktop Tools
    FileDesc: BlackBerry Product Description
    FileVer: 4.2.2.14
    ProdVer: 4.2.2.14

    ===== [end of ERRORLOG.TXT] =====


    Rviau345
    Last edited by Rviau345; 11-19-2007 at 12:53 AM. Reason: Invalid Command Line Parameter

  14. #29
    BlueRidge006's Avatar
    BlueRidge006 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    My GOD!! Why is this so freaking hard???? I have outlook 2003, a pearl 8130 and alot of contacts I need to put on my phone! outlook will not show up in the list of programs to sync to, only outlook express, ascii, and yahoo. I tried this on my rommates computer and same problem! anyone have any idea why outlook wont show up?

  15. #30
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    What version of Desktop Manager are you using? It should allow syncing to Outlook 2003, if you Outlook Profile is valid.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •