Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

So I downloaded the wrong OS on my pearl and now I cant get it ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    tacomaluv's Avatar
    tacomaluv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    downloaded the wrong OS on my pearl??

    Advertisement



    So I downloaded the wrong OS on my pearl and now I cant get it to work. I reset it and it wont restore the factory OS. It wont connect to my PC too. Any help?

  2. #2
    eduardog21's Avatar
    eduardog21 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    215C7A2A
    Posts
    125

    Re: Big problem!!!

    Download Java loader and see if it'll recognize it. If it does, then wipe your blackberry and reinstall the correct OS for your specific phone. I always do this in Windows XP and it always recognizes my Blackberry even when it has no OS installed. Hope you can find a solution. Good luck.
    Last edited by jblackfish; 02-23-2008 at 03:24 PM. Reason: edited out asking the user to search the forums

  3. #3
    tacomaluv's Avatar
    tacomaluv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Re: Big problem!!!

    Yeah I wipe my blackberry and it still puts the wrong OS on it

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: Big problem!!!

    taco,

    Where are you getting the "wrong OS" that you're installing? Try this address to pick up the appropriate OS, etc.

    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support...load_sites.jsp

    Let us know if that helps
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    tacomaluv's Avatar
    tacomaluv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Re: Big problem!!!

    The only thing is that my berry wont connect to my computer and I cant get on the web from it

  6. #6
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Re: Big problem!!!

    Why won't it connect? No battery life or it just wont turn on?

    I suggest going to your service provider's site (t-mobile, cingular etc) and finding your phone's support page. They usually have tutorials and instructions on how to install things.

    If you go here http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...f_29jan08.html
    you will also find links to your service providers OS install site I believe.

    If you Backed up your phone before installing the wrong OS try restoring it.

    Otherwise, if all else fails, use your service provider's warranty and get a replacement if they have such a warrantly.

    Hope that helps.

  7. #7
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: Big problem!!!

    I think you need to uninstall the old (wrong) os and also reinstall the correct OS. Make sure you get the right OS this time.

  8. #8
    FarCanal's Avatar
    FarCanal no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: Big problem!!!

    What does the BB actually do now? nothing but the LED flashing slowly?

    Javaloader will be the key, but yea the other dudes right you could go through the return process and get a new one.

  9. #9
    JjcampNR's Avatar
    JjcampNR no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Big problem!!!

    Remove the "wrong" OS from the Add/Remove Programs section of Control Panel. Once you do that, go to the link provided by lucky13mt, download the right OS and install it. Plug your BB in, open the javaloader, and try to do a full wipe on the device. There should be no way it can install the wrong OS if you've removed it from your PC. Also, you don't need to access the internet with your BB since you'll be downloading/installing the BB OS on your PC.

    If the javaloader doesn't even recognize your device, you're probably going to need to get a new one. Can you explain in a bit more detail exactly which OS you've installed and what your BB does when you try and run the javaloader on it?

  10. #10
    tacomaluv's Avatar
    tacomaluv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Re: Big problem!!!

    It wont even connect to my computer! The OS I think is from a cingular berry and its all messed up the only thing I can access on my phone is the option menu

  11. #11
    tacomaluv's Avatar
    tacomaluv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Re: Big problem!!!

    Can someone give me a link to get javaloader

  12. #12
    bbslice's Avatar
    bbslice no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2437ACFE
    Posts
    146

    Re: Big problem!!!

    download an update from another provider
    install the apploader don't start apploader yet
    then
    go to
    c:/programfiles/commonfiles/researchinmotion/apploader
    and delete vendor.xml i think thats the correct file name
    either way its the file at the bottom of the folder


    then try reinstalling the os

    that usually works for me when im having problems
    i just try to install another providers os
    i usually use tmo. and then after it installs i'll revert to the cingular os
    -------
    i could be wrong if i am someone please correct me
    but it works for me
    Last edited by bbslice; 02-25-2008 at 01:45 AM. Reason: Automerged.

  13. #13
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168

    Re: Big problem!!!

    I think you can have the cingular OS on t-mobile and visa versa with any carrier so I don't know why it wouldn't be working. Correct me if i'm wrong.

  14. #14
    firegeek's Avatar
    firegeek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    222

    Re: Big problem!!!

    You can use another providers OS as long as you get rid of vendor.xml. I am using alltel on a Verizon phone. Where you are going to run into problems is using an 8100 OS on a 8130. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    beamolite's Avatar
    beamolite no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F73F86
    Posts
    107

    Re: Big problem!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Try uninstalling desktop manager and then reinstall your os and desktop manager from your carrier. Plug the bb back into your computer and see if it will recognize it. I hope you did not brick your phone because your warranty will not cover what you did.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •