Results 1 to 7 of 7

I have a unlocked tmob pearl on att. I went to try and backup my ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    sanduneboi's Avatar
    sanduneboi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2413E310
    Posts
    49

    DM cant see my pearl

    Advertisement



    I have a unlocked tmob pearl on att. I went to try and backup my device and was not able to get it to come up in my DM. I tried turning off my firewall, my anti virus, and to no avail it still won't show up. I also cannot get the device to show up in my ATT communication manager. I'm running DM 4.3.0.15 and OS 4.2.1.103. I appreciate all the help you can provide.

  2. #2
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    try plugging it into a different usb hub...if that doesnt work, plug it in and go to options> connection settings>then press detect. it should discover the device
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  3. #3
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    try a different usb hub, or connect the device go to options>connection settings and press detect, it should find you. give it a shot and let me know what happens
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  4. #4
    sanduneboi's Avatar
    sanduneboi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2413E310
    Posts
    49
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i have tried that. I have used both usb ports on my laptop and I have dried to have the program detect it. I even tried taking out my memory card so that it wouldn't mount in mass storage mode. I've tried doing a battery pull while its pluged in. Pulled then battery then plugged it in as soon as it started booting. I've tried everything I can think of..... And nothing has worked. Nothing at all.

  5. #5
    sanduneboi's Avatar
    sanduneboi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2413E310
    Posts
    49
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~bump

  6. #6
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    rebooted computer lately? Just trying to help brain-storm....

  7. #7
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    yea it sounds like the host computer's usb drivers are corrupted or not installed correctly

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •