Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hi i was wondering if there is someone way for me to install the desktop ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    phatman9's Avatar
    phatman9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    62

    desktop manager at work?

    Advertisement



    Hi i was wondering if there is someone way for me to install the desktop manager on my work pc. when i try to install it it tells me that i dont have enough rights. I was wondering if someone knew of a workaround. Like maybe installing it on a thumbdrive or something like that. The thing is that i tried looking for a way to redirect the installation files to another folder but i couldnt find it. if anyone can help i would really appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: desktop manager at work?

    Desktop manager requires certain entries to be made in the windows registry. You would have to know what entries were necessary and what to set them to so the PC could use the thumb drive installation. But then editing the registry requires admin rights also, so youre in the same boat. There is a reason your company IT department limits who has software installation authority.

    Rcbjr
    ~via My BB Curve (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    phatman9's Avatar
    phatman9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    62

    Re: desktop manager at work?

    How about being able to redirect the installation files to another folder on the PC instead of on the thumb drive?

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: desktop manager at work?

    It doesn't matter what folder you put it in. The installation still needs to write to the registry, and since your IT department won't allow that then you can't install it on your work PC. As Rcbjr said, your stuck in a boat without a paddle.

    The only work around this one is to ask your IT department. I'm thinking the answer will be a "no" but maybe they might say "yes" it might be worth a try.

    Good Luck
    ~red

  5. #5
    phatman9's Avatar
    phatman9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    62

    Re: desktop manager at work?

    alright a boat without a paddle it is. thank you guys

  6. #6
    soniapti's Avatar
    soniapti no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: desktop manager at work?

    at my work, (medical billing) i asked and they said no, cause essentially you can use the bb as mass storage which amkes no sense because i can connect a thumb drive

  7. #7
    joe_2224's Avatar
    joe_2224 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: desktop manager at work?

    Were you able to find a work around and use the thumbdrive to run desktop manager?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •