Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hey, i probably could have thrown this in another thread, but i was just wondering ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jmarley's Avatar
    jmarley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    53

    Data Plan Question

    Advertisement



    Hey,

    i probably could have thrown this in another thread, but i was just wondering if you had to have the data plan for GPS? i read on here that someone said it did, but doesnt the gps puck give you your location? and the maps are already preloaded on the program right?

    so i would think it would work w/o data?

  2. #2
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Data Plan Question

    hmmm i still think u need a bb data plan
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  3. #3
    jgirly2's Avatar
    jgirly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,429

    Re: Data Plan Question

    Thats a good questions but, I've been using my GPS w/ a BB data plan.
    --------------------------------------------------------
    - j a n e l l
    Theirs more to life than cell phones...Theirs BLACKBERRY's

  4. #4
    jmarley's Avatar
    jmarley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    53

    Re: Data Plan Question

    i guess i could turn off data for a day and see what happens?

    since you guys are such quick responders i have another quick question. i noticed on my bill in addition to the 29.99 blackberry data plan, there was another 29.99 under AT&T direct bill. any experiences with that?

  5. #5
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Data Plan Question

    not really sounds kinda strange..go to the direct bill detail to find out what it is
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  6. #6
    jmarley's Avatar
    jmarley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    53

    Re: Data Plan Question

    i did and it didnt say much. just auto renew on 8/27 or something like that. no idea what it is. gotta call 'em up. i havent downloaded anything off media net so im not sure whats goin on. i have the media net browser..that just comes along with the data plan right?

  7. #7
    jgirly2's Avatar
    jgirly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,429

    Re: Data Plan Question

    not sure jmarley but these providers will charge you like crazy...If you don't know detail to detail what you signed up for, PLEASE call a CSR and find out or else your gonna end up with charges your not to familiar with
    --------------------------------------------------------
    - j a n e l l
    Theirs more to life than cell phones...Theirs BLACKBERRY's

  8. #8
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Data Plan Question

    sounds more like something that you may have signed up for by mistake or that got charged on ur bill by mistake. most of the time cust care will credit ti to your account. give em a jingle
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  9. #9
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Data Plan Question

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ many of the map programs use data to pull up the info, like google maps. So you wouldn't be able to get directions to anywhere unless the map is built in.

  10. #10
    Jsex's Avatar
    Jsex no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30

    Re: Data Plan Question

    from what i read on the internet, the pearl does not have the maps preloaded, it loads them as you go...not very helpfull if you are lost and dont have service.

  11. #11
    jmarley's Avatar
    jmarley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    53

    Re: Data Plan Question

    i called the CSR about the charge (i still have no idea what it was) and it got refunded so all is well there.

    i figured the maps would be preloaded? i also have mapquest navigator and google maps so maybe they work differently. i have to say, mapquest navigator is my favorite. they have so many options on there. i hope it stays free

  12. #12
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Data Plan Question

    You are dealing with two separate things. The GPSr Puck will tell your phone exactly where you are. (Okay, maybe within 20 feet or so). Without a map to give you perspective, the coordinates cranked out by the GPSr are pretty useless.

    In order for your map program to function properly, it requires the data plan in order to communicate with the server and update your map screen.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  13. #13
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Data Plan Question

    Even though it requires me to use two separate devices, I am finding that I still prefer my handheld Garmin for most GPS functions. I like having the ability on my phone, and its great in a pinch during the week when I am working, and don't really need anything other than driving directions.

    On the weekends, hiking and geocaching, its a lot better using the handheld for GPS and my Pearl for website reference, eBook lookups, etc. that I use when I am out and about.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  14. #14
    seafoam's Avatar
    seafoam no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Data Plan Question

    I've been looking for an application that would store maps on the memory card, but I don't think there is a single one that does that. All of them use data to pull down maps.

  15. #15
    jbjackson3004's Avatar
    jbjackson3004 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EEF24E
    Posts
    269

    Re: Data Plan Question

    How much are ATT Data plans?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •