Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

New here on the forum but i would really appreciate your help im not in ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Data conection Refused???

    Advertisement



    New here on the forum but i would really appreciate your help im not in the country right now. I got my pearl, its unlocked but when I put in a sim card it says Data conection refused, now this sim card is working perfectly on a chep phone i have but wont seem to work on the pearl, i tried another carriers sim card and that one did work, any ideas??? please help its really frustratig. Thanks in advanced. by the way, with the sim card that says data conection refused, i can still receive phone calls i just cant make any.
    Last edited by Don Raulito; 07-22-2007 at 11:03 PM.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    is the pearl unlocked?
    if so, and another carrier worked, what carrier does the SIM that doesn't work belong to?

  3. #3
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    yes the pearl is unlocked but im in central america right now, it should work the carrier that it wont work with works on an 850mhz and the one it did work with works on 900 you think that might have somethig to do???

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    The only reason that would come up, would because you're not subscribed to a data plan. Is the SIM card that you're using have the BB data plan?

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Don,

    Who is your carrier? Are you using a local sim card? Do you have voice service and no data?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    I will go ahead and post this info. If you are with a US carrier and you are using a local sim card you will not get data service, only voice (in an unlocked phone). If you have a USA carrier and they have roaming WITH GPRS in the country you are in than you can get data / BB service with your USA sim card in IF you have activated international roaming.

    Hope this helps. Post back more info or ?'s

    EDIT

    I just re-read your first post. Try adding a + to the phone number before dialing and see if that helps.
    Last edited by GaryF; 07-22-2007 at 11:10 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    With the sim card that says data conection refused if i use it on a treo i can use the internet and everythig so im guessing that the sim card is not the problem... my service says edge under the signal strengt what could it possibly be???? AAAAAAAAA

  8. #8
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    ok so I do have a data plan on the sim card im trying its a local sim card, however im really not interested in data only voice, but somehow it does receive phone calls but it wont make them...

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Are you calling local or intl?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    laydeejj's Avatar
    laydeejj no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    33

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    if this is on tmobile and you are not interested in the data plan you have to call them to add the free bb feature enable on it or a data plan. otherwise it will say data connection refused.

  11. #11
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    Are you calling local or intl?
    im calling local, with a local sim card, just that it says call failed.
    i tried to call my number again and still the call went thru... if i look at the bright side, i guess im gonna save some bucks because there's no way that i can make an outgoing call jajaja

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Ok...local sim can receive calls but you cannot dial a local number....same sim works fine in a treo - Have I got it about right?

    If so I have to say I am stumped. it cant be the frequency if you can receive calls...I dont think there is a setting on the BB that blocks international dialing...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    Ok...local sim can receive calls but you cannot dial a local number....same sim works fine in a treo - Have I got it about right?

    If so I have to say I am stumped. it cant be the frequency if you can receive calls...I dont think there is a setting on the BB that blocks international dialing...
    yep you got it right, local sim can recieve calls but cannot dial any number, same sim does work fine on a treo and on another phone... I tried to send a text message the outgoing message does not work... the incomimg messages do work, i sent one to myself from the internet.
    do you think I should try to update my bb software to the latest version??? im running on 4.2.0.42

  14. #14
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Check your settings under OPTIONS>NETWORK - you might go ahead and turn off data services (dont forget when you get home) and make sure that network selection is automatic and it shows the local network.

    I have used unlocked BB (not the 8100 but should not make a difference) with local sims before without issues. I still suspect it may be some sort of dialing rule that is causing your problem...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #15
    Don Raulito's Avatar
    Don Raulito no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Data conection Refused???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    Check your settings under OPTIONS>NETWORK - you might go ahead and turn off data services (dont forget when you get home) and make sure that network selection is automatic and it shows the local network.

    I have used unlocked BB (not the 8100 but should not make a difference) with local sims before without issues. I still suspect it may be some sort of dialing rule that is causing your problem...
    thanks a lot, i Tried turning off the data i also thought it was that... not good... still the same issue... im gonna go ahead and try to update my software maybe that might work... if all else fails back to the treo it is thank you so much for your help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •