Hi All, Please go steady with me, i am new to blackberry devices! I am ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

adwalshaw no está en línea Stack level 1

Converting a BES blackberry to a BIS blackberry

Advertisement

Hi All, Please go steady with me, i am new to blackberry devices! I am based in the UK and I have purchased a 8100 device via eBay which is locked to Vodafone. It is configured as a BES device (as i have learnt from browsing other forums). I think if i am understanding correctly to use it for personal use i need it to be a BIS device. I have a vodafone contract to the locking isn't a problem, can someone help me by letting me know if/how i can change it from BES to BIS? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!

Re: Converting a BES blackberry to a BIS blackberry

Contact the original owner if possible and ask him if he can get a blank IT policy pushed to the device to clear it from the BES. Then go to Vodafone's site and set up a BlackBerry email address (and/or add any other personal email addresses you want, up to a total of 10).

Thanks for the reply. The 8100 was unopened when i got it without a SIM so i am sure it hasn't been used. Does this matter? I have set up a vodafone email account but on the device itself in the wizard i only have the option to set up an enterprise email account, so i am guessing i need to update the software somehow?

Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7

Quote Originally Posted by adwalshaw
    Thanks for the reply. The 8100 was unopened when i got it without a SIM so i am sure it hasn't been used. Does this matter? I have set up a vodafone email account but on the device itself in the wizard i only have the option to set up an enterprise email account, so i am guessing i need to update the software somehow?
    If this was a new phone then you just need A) the BB internet feature B)the correct service books. Do you have the browser icon?

I have vodafone live icon, is that what you mean?