Results 1 to 12 of 12

for some odd reason, my google maps has been acting up. it'll work perfectly one ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    S2K ON 2's Avatar
    S2K ON 2 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    111

    connection problem w/ google maps

    Advertisement



    for some odd reason, my google maps has been acting up. it'll work perfectly one minute and then the next it says "this application requires a data connection, and will retry automatically. in the meantime, please check you signal strength"

    i have signal and all my other apps work fine...

    i've searched but came up with nothing. maybe i searched with the wrong keywords?

    TIA

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    Is this with a GPS puck? It sounds like you are. I got that msg with my GPS puck. Which version are you running?

  3. #3
    S2K ON 2's Avatar
    S2K ON 2 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    111

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    no GPS for me. it just keeps cutting on and off whenever it wants. last nite it worked more than it didnt, which was good cuz it saved me from mad traffic.

    i'm running .107

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    I'm 4.2.1.108 but that shouldn't make any difference. Unless you have some phone malfunction it sounds totally like a coverage signal skipping in and out. Be sure that's not the problem - buildings, hills, who knows all the reasons signals get interruption. If you're sure that's not the problem, I guess you could try a battery pull (restart) - no help there try uninstall/reinstall google maps. If that doesn't work you can always backup, sync and reinstall your OS but this doesn't sound like an OS problem if all your other aps are working fine.

    This is the spittin' image of a signal problem in my experience. Maybe someone else can help. I certainly don't have all the answers - I answered this because it is so close to a problem I have had. Good luck.

  5. #5
    kiralaura's Avatar
    kiralaura no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2421B387
    Posts
    2

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    I'm having the exact same problem on my Blackberry pearl! For the last 2 weeks I have been getting the same exact message and have plenty of signal strength and all my email and other apps work great. It's worked about 10% of the time. I uninstalled and reinstalled google maps, but nothing changed. It's not working now and I have to print out maps from my home computer now.

    Wish there was a better answer on here.

  6. #6
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    I'm having the same issue with Google maps... I'm about to give it all up and start crying! Everything works.... but maps wont get a lick of data!

  7. #7
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    is your apn set to wap.voicestream.com ???
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  8. #8
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    Everything else has no problems getting on the net... Which leads me to assume that its not the internet settings that's to fault.

  9. #9
    stnkyq2's Avatar
    stnkyq2 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    IMTHTG
    Posts
    780

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    Quote Originally Posted by siccmade View Post
    is your apn set to wap.voicestream.com ???

    I agree with this solution. It worked for me when I had the same issue; mine was not set up at all (APN settings) when I was with Tmobile.... I also got the message when I was on the phone with my bluetooth.... Also, make sure that you do not have a lower case "edge".. It should be an upper case "EDGE" for better signal strength for the data.....
    "A clear cut vision is the best path to success.. persistence is the vehicle you arrive in..." -Rev. Run

    Crackberry @ddict for LIFE..........

  10. #10
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    I know its somewhere out there in the forum... but what's the APN settings for AT&T?

  11. #11
    stnkyq2's Avatar
    stnkyq2 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    IMTHTG
    Posts
    780

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    Quote Originally Posted by kolosus View Post
    I know its somewhere out there in the forum... but what's the APN settings for AT&T?
    I found them on my BB8310....


    Try going to Options --> Advanced Options --> TCP, and enter the following information:
    APN: wap.cingular

    username: WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM

    password: CINGULAR1
    "A clear cut vision is the best path to success.. persistence is the vehicle you arrive in..." -Rev. Run

    Crackberry @ddict for LIFE..........

  12. #12
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: connection problem w/ google maps

    Its there... No luck still.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •