Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Do any of you get an error when connecting your BB via USB that reads ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    VanillaEps's Avatar
    VanillaEps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2F5CD
    Posts
    382

    Connecting via USB

    Advertisement



    Do any of you get an error when connecting your BB via USB that reads as follows (not verbatim):

    Your USB port is not supplying enough power to charge efficiently. Check your connection and drivers.....

    I'm using a USB cable that is meant for a 3.5 floppy drive. Do you think that is causing the problem. Haven't had a chance to bring in the supplied cable and connect through that to troubleshoot.

  2. #2
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Always.. The only cable I don't get this with is the one to my remote control it seems to have a power supply on the physical cable

  3. #3
    VanillaEps's Avatar
    VanillaEps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2F5CD
    Posts
    382

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyRVC
    Always.. The only cable I don't get this with is the one to my remote control it seems to have a power supply on the physical cable
    Along with that message, the BB is able to connect. But, since its my first time connecting, its asking to verify applications. I'm stuck on that pop up message for minutes. That verification is preventing me from making an actual connection with desktop manager. I'm trying to download the new OS.

    Could the cable just not be meant for a real connection between the compuater and the BB? I was able to make a connection with the SLVR.....

  4. #4
    diaz1023's Avatar
    diaz1023 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    293

    Re: Connecting via USB

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i used to get this message when connecting to my laptop and the power adaptor to the laptop was not connected

  5. #5
    VanillaEps's Avatar
    VanillaEps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2F5CD
    Posts
    382

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Quote Originally Posted by diaz1023
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i used to get this message when connecting to my laptop and the power adaptor to the laptop was not connected
    Its connected because I use a laptop station at work.

  6. #6
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Connecting via USB

    it has nothing to do with the connection to the laptop/pc, or whatever else. It has to come from a powered usb supply which the cable that came with the phone isn't. Like I said, I use the one to my remote control cause it has a built in power supply. If you would like I will take a picture of it when I get home to show you what it is that I am talking about.

  7. #7
    VanillaEps's Avatar
    VanillaEps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2F5CD
    Posts
    382

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyRVC
    it has nothing to do with the connection to the laptop/pc, or whatever else. It has to come from a powered usb supply which the cable that came with the phone isn't. Like I said, I use the one to my remote control cause it has a built in power supply. If you would like I will take a picture of it when I get home to show you what it is that I am talking about.
    Ok, what about the verfying applications problem. Its not getting past that so that I can access my BB via laptop. Its being a silly goose.

  8. #8
    jhowle's Avatar
    jhowle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    3115EE05
    Posts
    525

    Re: Connecting via USB

    It Does That When The Pc Is In Stand By Or Hibernate When It Is In Power Safe Mode. WHEN The Pc Is In Full Power MODE, It Switchs Back To 5.5 Volts And Therefor There Is Power To Charge Any Device That Can ChargeD Via Usb PORT
    Looking for new buddies. Add me pin# 3115EE05

  9. #9
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: Connecting via USB

    I think the issue is that unless you've installed the BB drivers on your machine there's something about how the USB port "speaks" to the device such that it's not supplying power to the Blackberry (or at least the BB doesn't think it's getting power). As an example, my laptop has the 4.2 desktop software installed (and of course the BB drivers). When I plug in my 8100, it prompts me for the password to use mass storage (because I have a micro SD card installed), and the battery power icon changes to indicate that it's charging. However, if I plug into a different laptop with the same cable, it produce the error message noted above. This rules out the cable as being the issue. I think you'll find that if you install the desktop manager on the computer that you may have more success getting it to charge.
    David

  10. #10
    VanillaEps's Avatar
    VanillaEps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2F5CD
    Posts
    382

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Quote Originally Posted by dkozinn
    I think the issue is that unless you've installed the BB drivers on your machine there's something about how the USB port "speaks" to the device such that it's not supplying power to the Blackberry (or at least the BB doesn't think it's getting power). As an example, my laptop has the 4.2 desktop software installed (and of course the BB drivers). When I plug in my 8100, it prompts me for the password to use mass storage (because I have a micro SD card installed), and the battery power icon changes to indicate that it's charging. However, if I plug into a different laptop with the same cable, it produce the error message noted above. This rules out the cable as being the issue. I think you'll find that if you install the desktop manager on the computer that you may have more success getting it to charge.
    I got it to stop saying that the USB current is not sufficient. But not connecting. Its getting stuck on the application verification. I did notice that the BB once showed a connection to a computer dialog. But that quickly disappeared. My laptop is connected to a hub that allows it to connect to a laptop. Could this be the problem?

  11. #11
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: Connecting via USB

    If you haven't done so already, I'd reboot your laptop. It could be that the drivers need a reboot to work correctly. I'd also connect the USB cable directly to the laptop (I'm not sure if you're talking about an ethernet hub, a USB hub, or some kind of docking station) to try to eliminate any problems that might be caused by something other than the laptop itself.
    David

  12. #12
    VanillaEps's Avatar
    VanillaEps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2F5CD
    Posts
    382

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Quote Originally Posted by dkozinn
    If you haven't done so already, I'd reboot your laptop. It could be that the drivers need a reboot to work correctly. I'd also connect the USB cable directly to the laptop (I'm not sure if you're talking about an ethernet hub, a USB hub, or some kind of docking station) to try to eliminate any problems that might be caused by something other than the laptop itself.
    The docking station was the problem. Now, I've got another. The computer shut down during the OS install. While it was backing up and clearing my BB. Now, the BB won't turn on at all and won't connect.

    *Angry*

  13. #13
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Connecting via USB

    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  14. #14
    trace's Avatar
    trace no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Connecting via USB

    i have a macbook pro, a bb pearl and have just downloaded pocketmac for blackberry, each time i connect usb to machine and phone i get the "usb charging current is not sufficient". my power source is set to normal and machine is fully charged. i had thought it may have to do with the fact that i did not allow my battery to charge 100% when i first got it.

  15. #15
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Connecting via USB

    Trace, are you connecting to your macbook while it is running on batteries? If so, it may be throttling your USB Charging current. Or If you are using a USB Hub. I'm not familiar with the Macbook, so I can't really offer any more suggestions.It really doesn't matter about not fully charging the first time. That would not cause this problem.

    Oh, Welcome to PinStack.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •