Results 1 to 7 of 7

Guys, I have just bought an 8120, installed the desktop manager, connected the BB and ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    c5VamPirE's Avatar
    c5VamPirE no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7

    Computer won't discover the device! help

    Advertisement



    Guys,

    I have just bought an 8120, installed the desktop manager, connected the BB and the laptop won't discover the device. The message I get when I try to "Detect" is "Device not Found". Read a few posts by other forum members, tried a few things but with no avail. In re-installed desktop manager 4.2 SP2 and I even tried on two different computers: a desktop and an apple ibook with the same outcome, device not found.

    Took the device back and got it replaced and here I am with the new device, still having the same problem not being able to connect to my laptop.

    Funny thing is that when I take the battery out and plug the BB via USB, the desktop manager finds the device and gives its PIN in the USB port settings. However with the battery back on, the device is not discoverable.

    I don't know what else can I do at this stage, any hints/help would be greatly appreciated.

    Saied

  2. #2
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    Try this thread:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...connected.html
    and welcome to the Stacks!

  3. #3
    c5VamPirE's Avatar
    c5VamPirE no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Lavagirl, I will try and wipe the device but how do I go about installing the OS? can I install another carrier's OS? would it matter if my device is locked or no? and can I tell if it is locked without having access to another SIM from another company?

  4. #4
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...lackberry.html
    That's the how to thread
    and check for the 8120 OS here for your upgrade:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86
    As long as you delete the vendor.xml as the How To thread says, you can load any carrier OS on and it doesn't matter if it's locked to another carrier.

  5. #5
    c5VamPirE's Avatar
    c5VamPirE no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks a million Lavagirl, will update after the wipe/install process

  6. #6
    c5VamPirE's Avatar
    c5VamPirE no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    I am trying to wipe the BB but JL_Cmdr doesn't look like it's doing it. After I press '4' to wipe out the device and confirm it, it says connecting to device with a red screen and then it returns to the main menu. When I switch the device back up everything is still in place which means the wipe process didn't really work I suppose

  7. #7
    c5VamPirE's Avatar
    c5VamPirE no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Lavagirl, just wanted to say a big thank you as the device is now connected to the computer and everything seems to be working fine ! thanks a lot

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •