Results 1 to 7 of 7

So I got my Rogers Blackberry Pearl unlocked, it is possible to change the vendor ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    sharkattack's Avatar
    sharkattack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    27

    Changing vendor branding

    Advertisement



    So I got my Rogers Blackberry Pearl unlocked, it is possible to change the vendor branding to Vodafone permanently? I want to get rid of Rogers boot-up screen and shut down screen too. I want to change it so that in the future updates will always keep the Pearl Vodafone branded.

  2. #2
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: Changing vendor branding

    Here is the short Answer, No, as the vendor spalsh screens as burnt into the chip at the factory.

    Sorry.

  3. #3
    sharkattack's Avatar
    sharkattack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Changing vendor branding

    so everytime I do a firmware upgrade and i want to get the Vodafone Today screen themes, the I have to edit the Blackberry.Alx each time?

    That seems kind of troublesome and time-consuming

  4. #4
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Changing vendor branding

    Quote Originally Posted by sharkattack
    so everytime I do a firmware upgrade and i want to get the Vodafone Today screen themes, the I have to edit the Blackberry.Alx each time?

    That seems kind of troublesome and time-consuming
    Correct...And it is...Yes..

  5. #5
    bbriand's Avatar
    bbriand no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    170

    Re: Changing vendor branding

    Quote Originally Posted by sharkattack
    so everytime I do a firmware upgrade and i want to get the Vodafone Today screen themes, the I have to edit the Blackberry.Alx each time?

    That seems kind of troublesome and time-consuming
    It is kinda a pain but a search and replace all does this in seconds. For example I'm with Rogers (vendor code 107) so I do a search and replace on:
    Find: _vendorID="
    Replace: _vendorID="107|

    Maybe someone will write a quick app that asks what languages you want and your vendor ID and delete all extra files and add your vendor ID to the themes (hint/hint).

    Bill

  6. #6
    sharkattack's Avatar
    sharkattack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Changing vendor branding

    I want the Vodafone Today screen themes, I am with Rogers (Vendor 107) and I only want English (US) as my language.

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Changing vendor branding

    First off, How often do you plan on reloading the software. I have only reloaded it about 5 times on three different BBs in two years. It is not really that often that you will need to reload your OS.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •