Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hello - maybe I'm a newbie idiot. I just figured out (thanks to this site) ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    movingpixels's Avatar
    movingpixels no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    change the mute / standby key function?

    Advertisement



    Hello - maybe I'm a newbie idiot. I just figured out (thanks to this site) why my mute key on the top doesn't mute incoming calls and isn't supposed to. Um... is there a way to program that key to go mute incoming calls / alerts? Does anyone else think that having to go to your profiles to mute alerts is a PITA? Every cell phone I have ever owned has had a quick one button click to mute and go to vibrate so I am confused as to why there's a mute button on the top that doesn't mute. I'd even program one of the other convienience keys to do it if that's possible.

    And furthermore... what the heck is the point of the Pearl standby mode? Why would someone want all their calls to go to voicemail but still hear them ringing??? I'm so confused. Thanks in advance!

    Gina

  2. #2
    shmengie's Avatar
    shmengie no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    519

    Re: change the mute / standby key function?

    sorry i can't answer your q's, but wanted to say: rad 'land of the lost' avatar!

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: change the mute / standby key function?

    Gina,

    When you recv a call and hit the mute button it should stop ringing (mine does) - is this not what you want?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: change the mute / standby key function?

    Quote Originally Posted by movingpixels
    Hello - maybe I'm a newbie idiot. I just figured out (thanks to this site) why my mute key on the top doesn't mute incoming calls and isn't supposed to. Um... is there a way to program that key to go mute incoming calls / alerts? Does anyone else think that having to go to your profiles to mute alerts is a PITA? Every cell phone I have ever owned has had a quick one button click to mute and go to vibrate so I am confused as to why there's a mute button on the top that doesn't mute. I'd even program one of the other convienience keys to do it if that's possible.

    And furthermore... what the heck is the point of the Pearl standby mode? Why would someone want all their calls to go to voicemail but still hear them ringing??? I'm so confused. Thanks in advance!

    Gina
    While on a call, it should mute it. Using the MUTE button that is. What OS version are you running?
    If you want to quick switch to vibrate hold down the # Key and that will switch your profile to vibrate.


    Futher more standby mode is to conserve your battery. Everything thing still works, you still receive calls, and messages. You should be able to pick up the calls also they shouldn't be going to voice mail. If you aren't able to, then I would upgrade your OS. It was a known issue with older OS's.

    Good Luck
    ~red

  5. #5
    Roswell108's Avatar
    Roswell108 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10

    Re: change the mute / standby key function?

    Also I have learned that if you hit the volume keys much like a samsung phone it will immediately mute the ringing of the current call. I think that may be what you are looking for. It doesn't change any profiles or make it vibrate instead it simply silences that call.

  6. #6
    movingpixels's Avatar
    movingpixels no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: change the mute / standby key function?

    Thanks much for the info... I was afraid your answers would confirm my suspicions. Most phones have a ONE CLICK external button like the convenience buttons on the Pearl that you can press when you're going into a movie theater that will change alterts to vibrate. I will hold down the # though - thanks for the tip. Definitely better than having to go to profiles!

    Yes, it angrifies me that they used the international "MUTE" icon for something that doesn't mute alerts and puts it in standby (?). I love my Pearl otherwise - very robust applications and calendar! My first BB.

  7. #7
    micherooo's Avatar
    micherooo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    94

    Re: change the mute / standby key function?

    That mute button was confusing at first. I do find it highly useful now. I see it more as an easy access "Temporary" mute button, not a permanent one. Like if I'm work and I'm messing around with my phone (like playing a funny song, watching a funny video) but then you leave that screen to do something else (and so the sounds are still playing in the background)....Boss comes in so I need to MUTE MY SOUNDS QUICK! I love that button because I'm not forced to frantically find the pause or stop button on the screen.

    I also love to use it as a standby button. I used to have my phone on autolock but it was annoying to press TWO buttons to unlock it every time I access my phone (and as any avid BB user knows...you access your phone a LOT). With the standby on, not only does it save battery, I just have ONE button to do my "locking" and "unlocking."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •