Results 1 to 7 of 7

So I am in Kiawah South Carolina and much to my dismay I get almost ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    EricScott's Avatar
    EricScott no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    80

    Question Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    Advertisement



    So I am in Kiawah South Carolina and much to my dismay I get almost no Cingular coverage down here (despite that fact that I would have expected this to be old Bell South territory). Unfortunately I cannot figure out how to automatically or manually roam on to other networks. A bunch of people I am with have the TMO Pearl and they have an option in their Network settings to select other carriers. They are getting Suncom and with full service. Did a search on Cingular's support site and it says that the "Select Network" option is only available when roaming internationally. Is this true? Does that mean I am SOL if Cingular doesn't get a signal where I am.

    That's totally ridiculous if that's the case. Anyone know a work around?

  2. #2
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895

    Re: Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    that is odd... do you not have a NETWORK option when you go to options?

  3. #3
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Unfortunately, AT&T blocks the option to manually choose networks through their subsidy lock. The only way to get around it is to unlock your phone. There are many places that will do this for a small fee online. AT&T will do it for free, if you request it to be unlocked because you're "going overseas for vacation" though.

  4. #4
    bukzin's Avatar
    bukzin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Re: Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    OK called ATT and they gave me my unlock code no problem.

    Do I just unlock it and then get roaming/network options
    or do I also need a new SIM card?




    Thanks,
    Bukzin
    8100

  5. #5
    takadante's Avatar
    takadante no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B2C963
    Posts
    441

    Re: Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I have a question too. It my be irrelevant, so sorry.

    If I were to get my phone unlocked, what benudits would I get? Ofcourse there is the fact that you can use one carriers phone on another. Anthing else?

    Sorry to go off topic.

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    Unlocking your phone does you no good when roaming. Unlocking only allows you to use a different SIM card in the phone. Like if you switched carriers and used a TMO SIM card. Then you would use TMO's towers.

    You cannot manually choose towers EVER. If you do choose a network and it's not your carrier then you only get the SOS availability. Emergency calls only. aka 911

    Roaming is always automatic. The phone will choose the best tower for you and the best network if your network is not available.

    @takedante no real benefits of unlocking your phone other than using when you want to use if for another carrier. Resell value goes up a little but that about it.

  7. #7
    bukzin's Avatar
    bukzin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Re: Can't Roam Domestically on Cingular????

    Reddog,


    Very basic question...


    How does roaming work with BB?

    If I am out of range from my carrier (Cingular/ATT) is there any way
    I can get on Verizon, etc?

    Would this require an ongoing account with Verizon or whoever?



    ATT gave me my unlock code but I have not tried it.

    Outside of non-US usage, what are the benefits of having another SIM card to go
    along with my factory ATT one?


    Thanks,

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •