Results 1 to 7 of 7

i recently unlocked my 8100 and am using a local network in india... i asked ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    blaber's Avatar
    blaber no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    62

    cant find browser

    Advertisement



    i recently unlocked my 8100 and am using a local network in india...
    i asked my service provider to send me GPRS settings via sms...
    i saved the sms, but still dont seem to have connection...

    i also tried options>advanced>host routing table ..but still nothin

    does blackberry need some other settings to enable it...???
    and y cant i find the browser??? plz help

  2. #2
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Hi Blaber, you would have to have a Data plan to reach RIM's server, once you reach that, then the browser ICON shows up.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  3. #3
    blaber's Avatar
    blaber no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by pda.teck View Post
    Hi Blaber, you would have to have a Data plan to reach RIM's server, once you reach that, then the browser ICON shows up.
    wud the fact that i unlocked the phone from existing network create any problems???

  4. #4
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Quote Originally Posted by blaber View Post
    wud the fact that i unlocked the phone from existing network create any problems???
    No that would be fine, It is just a lack of a data connection, one of the problems in India is that they have so many carriers and less then half have internet connections. At least form a TMO stand piont, all I have to go by in their coverage map.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  5. #5
    blaber's Avatar
    blaber no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    62
    i tried contacting my service provider ....'Idea' in this case...
    they said that they dont hav GPRS settings for blackberry phones..but told me to try following settings...
    1. open browser
    2. add profile name as idea_gprs
    3. homepage wap.ideafresh.com
    4. proxy address 10.4.42.15
    5.port 8080
    6. APN imi

    now the problem is that i cant locate the browser ..so where shud i put in these settings??? n moreover if browser cant come w/o gprs so wat shud i do???

    anyone from india ...plz help.....

  6. #6
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440
    In the top right corner of the screen next to the signal strenght, what letters are there? Should start with "G"

  7. #7
    blaber's Avatar
    blaber no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    62
    u mean gprs/edge????
    its displaying as edge

    i again called my service provider customer care...they say settings will be there on blackberry site....is this correct??/

    they also said that the set is illegal in india...is it so????
    cause i really want to complain against the customer care if this is not so...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •