Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hello, pinstackers. For the past couple of weeks, my desktop software will not recognize my ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Ruutu15's Avatar
    Ruutu15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Advertisement



    Hello, pinstackers. For the past couple of weeks, my desktop software will not recognize my phone as being connected. I will get the chimes like crazy, as if I'm connecting and disconnecting it repeatedly. I consulted the many useful help guides here, and downloaded the newest desktop software, as well as the newest 8100 software from T-Mobile. I then plugged the phone in without the battery, and it recognized my phone. I then went through the steps, and it deleted/re-installed everything on my phone, but the problem is that it fails before it completes, which has rendered my phone useless. Where do I go from here?

    Again, I'm using an 8100 Pearl from T-Mobile, with the newest OS and Software downloaded today (7/12/07) directly from T-Mobile's BlackBerry page.

    Thanks again...

  2. #2
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    If you want to use the TMO OS that's fine, there are newer OS out there though.

    you may have bricked it. so as of right now your pearl doesn't turn on or do anything right?

  3. #3
    Ruutu15's Avatar
    Ruutu15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Well, it will turn on, but I get a circle and slash through a box containing a circle, square, and triangle. I'm assuming that this means there's no OS, but I have no idea how to go about reloading it.

  4. #4
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    let's do this......download the newest OS here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...s_4_2_1_a.html


    does your Dm recognize the phone as being connected or not now?

  5. #5
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    thanks evolution, i couldn't find that thread.

  6. #6
    Ruutu15's Avatar
    Ruutu15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    let's do this......download the newest OS here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...s_4_2_1_a.html


    does your Dm recognize the phone as being connected or not now?
    It still says disconnected, but this is with the battery in. With the battery in place, it doesn't even give me a USB connection option, only the various COM ports. Without the battery, it shows USB as a connection option.

    Also, the advice that I took from the beginning was from the list that EvolutionCSR posted.

  7. #7
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    follow that link Evolution posted step by step and let us know if it helped when you're done.

  8. #8
    Ruutu15's Avatar
    Ruutu15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    follow that link Evolution posted step by step and let us know if it helped when you're done.
    Alright guys, I did that, and it goes through load/delete system software, and then to Initializing...and then it says 'reconnecting to JVM', followed by "Unable to connect to device during a multi-load operation."

  9. #9
    teleberry's Avatar
    teleberry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F8AB7F
    Posts
    92

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Ouch. Keep trying. Mine did this the first time I tried to upgrade an OS and after several tries, one went through.
    I force connected without the battery, put the battery in, wiped with JL_cmdr, reforced connection without the battery, put the battery in again and reloaded the OS. Takes forever so go do something else and resist temptation to unplug and start over. Hope something works for you.

  10. #10
    Ruutu15's Avatar
    Ruutu15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Wow, I don't know what I could possibly be doing wrong. I put the battery in when the "Updating your device" task starts, and it never works. I'm doing this while I'm at work, and I've probably done it 7-8 times now with no luck.

  11. #11
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    You should try putting the battery in at the handheld application screen ( screen with all the checkmarks) before continuing on. when you have issues with the device being detected by DM, and you remove the battery the DM is linking to a seperate portion of the memory. But after you do so to connect it has to load OS in the normal memory.
    Last edited by Eddie_gauge; 07-12-2007 at 02:53 PM.

  12. #12
    Ruutu15's Avatar
    Ruutu15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Can't connect, tried reloading OS and now phone is inoperable

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie_gauge
    You should try putting the battery in at the handheld application screen ( screen with all the checkmarks) before continuing on. when you have issues with the device being detected by DM, and you remove the battery the DM is linking to a seperate portion of the memory. But after you do so to connect it has to load OS in the normal memory.
    I just tried that, and still no luck. It goes through the "Delete/Load JVM System Software" pretty quickly, and when it goes to 'wait for device initialize', the screen turns white with the hour glass, and then I get that icon with the 'no' symbol through the circle, square, and triangle' icons...followed by that crash message. It's also worth noting, and I just noticed this, that the DM says 'disconnected' at the bottom through the whole process, although it's definitely connected.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •