Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Hi all, Weird thing has happened. I tried to connect my BB 8100 to my ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39

    Can't connect to PC

    Advertisement



    Hi all,

    Weird thing has happened. I tried to connect my BB 8100 to my PC today via USB and that happens is the phone shows it is charging. The PC doesn't recognise a USB device and Desktop Manager cannot find it either.

    To my knowledge, neither my PC or BB have any settings to turn this off.

    Can you help?

    Thanks
    Mike

  2. #2
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    This might help solve the problem http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ead.php?t=5178


  3. #3
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39
    No, that doesn't work, in fact my phone does next to nothing when I connect it. It just flashes up a picture of a battery with a red line though it. Interestingly enough though, when I connect as normal, it shows it is charging the battery for about 2 seconds and then doesn't.
    All other USB devices work fine?

    Thanks
    Mike

  4. #4
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397
    mike...I think that might be your best bet (re-installing your OS)

  5. #5
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39
    I agree, but, I can't because I can't get the phone to connect to the PC?

  6. #6
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397
    then you might have to wipe the device first using the JL_Cmder.
    Then re-load the OS

  7. #7
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39
    DOH!

    What's the "JL_Cmder"?

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Lets not rush to a java wipe yet....

    Is your phone functioning otherwise?

    Did you allow the battery to run all the way down?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Is wipe with jl_cmder same as device wipe from options>Security>General>Wipe Handheld?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    What is your desktop operating system (xp, vista)? And what version of Desktop Manager are you running?

    Did you try a different USB port (not a hub) and a different USB cable?

    Did you check your power management settings on the USB port to make sure they are disabled?

    You may want to reinstall the USB drivers - they can be found here:
    Download Desktop Manager from RIM (We recommend 4.3 multi-language for most applications)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky13mt View Post
    Is wipe with jl_cmder same as device wipe from options>Security>General>Wipe Handheld?
    No, not at all!

    JL CMDER wipes EVERYTHING off the device, OS, apps, data, etc. (makes a nice paperweight)

    Handheld Wipe is a data clearing wipe.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #12
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    No, not at all!

    JL CMDER wipes EVERYTHING off the device, OS, apps, data, etc. (makes a nice paperweight)

    Handheld Wipe is a data clearing wipe.
    So if I did this and reloaded OS...would that give me a clean policy.bin and no red lock?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  13. #13
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    In theory...this may fix your little red lock issue.

    I'd go for it!



    .....that is unless your device is CURSED!

  14. #14
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39
    OK, Sorry more info.
    Running Windows XP
    Battery is about half charged
    Downloading Desktop Manager 4.3 as I tyoe this.
    Also, have had battery off phone for about 10mins now.
    Have tried different USB port and cable.

    How do I disable USB power management settings?

    Thanks
    Mike

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I dont think this is your issue, but trying to cover all the bases...

    1. Go to Start>Settings>Control Panel>System. The Systems Properties screen appears.
    2. On the Hardware tab, click Device Manager. The Device Manager screen appears.
    3. Double-click Universal Serial Bus controllers. The expanded USB list appears.
    4. Double-click USB Root Hub. The USB Root Hub Properties screen appears.
    5. On the Power Management tab, clear theAllow the computer to turn off this device to save power option on all root hubs.
    6. Click OK.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •