Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Hi All, When I go to Options/Security and try to flick the password "Enabled" to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    sourena's Avatar
    sourena no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Lightbulb Cannot Disable Password.

    Advertisement



    Hi All, When I go to Options/Security and try to flick the password "Enabled" to "Disable", it does not give me the option to do so. I also noticed a little small red lock-icon just beside the field.

    Please note this is NOT a company phone and it is personal, so it is not controlled by company. Also when I bought it, it did not have a password set and I set this up myself. But now I cannot turn it off.

    Any ideas how I can do this without wiping the handheld? Thanks!

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    this happened to me also two days ago

    i posted about it and no response regarding the little red lock yet

    also...i tried wiping the handheld and the little lock didnt go away...so no good trying that
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Sounds like you have your encryption Mode for your media card set to: Security & Password. This will make a password manditory and lock that feature. Go to media card and change the option to your selection-"device"or "none". This should give you back control over your password. I can't remember, you might have to reset device.(Battery pull.)

  4. #4
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    well my problem is with my firewall status and not being able to disable it because of this little red lock
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  5. #5
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Ahhhhh...I've seen that before! I can't remember where...I will try hard to remember. It's something simple, but weird! I'll do some homework.

  6. #6
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by Jbee View Post
    Ahhhhh...I've seen that before! I can't remember where...I will try hard to remember. It's something simple, but weird! I'll do some homework.
    yay thanks.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  7. #7
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    I know it has to do something w/BES, but I can't remember the fix. Brain-overloading-must-must-must---------beeeeep.

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by Jbee View Post
    I know it has to do something w/BES, but I can't remember the fix. Brain-overloading-must-must-must---------beeeeep.
    lol im about to make your brain overload a little more...ive never been on BES...lol
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    Did you buy the device used? also go in to Options>Security Options>General Setting and look through and see if there is anything that says IT Policy?

  10. #10
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    How long has your lock been enabled? Was your BB previously owned? Has your phone been serviced by provider, etc., since you've owned it? Just asking some q&a's to try to figure this one out....

  11. #11
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    this phone was purchased from a tmobile store brand new...or so i was told

    this lock enabled itself 2 days ago

    i was trying to do an IT Policy wipe to get rid of it so i can use certain 3rd party apps that get the firewall location error

    and no there is no "IT Policy" visible anywhere in my BB
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  12. #12
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    I know this is going to be a stupid question, but I have to ask...have you done a battery-pull since then? I pretty sure you have, but still gonna' ask.

  13. #13
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    not a stupid question...very valid if i had not known about it...but yes i did plenty of times lol

    also used Softreset
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  14. #14
    sourena's Avatar
    sourena no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jbee View Post
    Sounds like you have your encryption Mode for your media card set to: Security & Password. This will make a password manditory and lock that feature. Go to media card and change the option to your selection-"device"or "none". This should give you back control over your password. I can't remember, you might have to reset device.(Battery pull.)
    Yes JBEE, you did it!!! Thanks! It works now!!
    Lucky13: Here's how you do it:

    1) go to Options/Advanced Options/Media card
    2) then under "Encryption Mode", select it and set it to "NONE"

    Then after this go back to
    1) Opttions/Security Options/General Settings
    2) then choose Password and flick it to "Disabled" since that little red lock-icon is now gone!

    let me know if you succeed...thx!

  15. #15
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    thanks for the info sourena...but ive never encrypted my media card and its always set to "None"

    yet another mystery...lol
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •