Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Hello! I have had a Pearl for a few months now, and my wife just ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    buckeyefan's Avatar
    buckeyefan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    19

    Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    Advertisement



    Hello! I have had a Pearl for a few months now, and my wife just bought one as well. Can we sync both through Desktop Manager without combining our info/data?

    Thanks in advance!
    TMO 8100

  2. #2
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    yes you can. i have a 7100i and so does my brother. he has no internet so when he needs something he comes over and the desktop manager reconizes our individual bb's.

  3. #3
    buckeyefan's Avatar
    buckeyefan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    OK, so I should just hook the new one up on the USB cable and go from there?
    TMO 8100

  4. #4
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    yeah hook it up then open desktop manager. make sure when you open that up that HER pin is displayed at the bottom of the window. if it is, then your good to go.

  5. #5
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    If you hook up two BB's to the same pc and sync they will sync the same info. If you want different info one person could use Outlook and the other Outlook Express.

  6. #6
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    oh im sorry i didnt see you wanted to sync both of them seprate. cp is deffinitly correct.

    im sorry again, long day and im tired no more posting help from me tonight

  7. #7
    buckeyefan's Avatar
    buckeyefan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    What about when you install new OS or other software and DM backs up logs, softweare, etc.? When DM "wipes" the BB, won't both get the same info when the backed up files are put back on?

    For example, Opera shows up in App Loader for my Pearl, but it probably shouldn't for my wifes Pearl as she does not have it. How doI thwart that type of "cross-pollenization"?
    TMO 8100

  8. #8
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    you can tell the DM to not make changes regarding certain apps.

  9. #9
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    no it shouldnt show up when her phone is plugged in. the application loader part of Desktop Manager gets the information from what is currently on that phone plugged in. not sure i explained that right. cp6169?

  10. #10
    s7umpy's Avatar
    s7umpy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E8A20F
    Posts
    20

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    If you both are using outlook then you should have different XP logins (profiles) so when she logs in with her profile then Pearl would sync with her outlook this way calendar notes and all the info. should not get mixed.

  11. #11
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    Sorry for my misinfo. Both devices I plug in have the same apps loaded

  12. #12
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    This is my understanding, the apps that show in app loader are the apps you have on your pc. There are a few apps I don't have on my BB that still show through the app loader.

  13. #13
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    There are a few apps I don't have on my BB that still show through the app loader.
    whenever i plug in my brothers phone, it never shows any apps that he doesnt have installed on his phone. when i plug mine in, it shows all the apps that i past installed on my phone through DM but have deleted from my handheld....

    CP im not denying you at all. you have wayy more expierence, but im just explaining from my end

  14. #14
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    Its all good. I'm trying it right now and I have a brand new 7100i out of the box plugged in and says it has over 30 apps. No way!

    When I plug in my 8703e it shows I have VNES, I do not.

    On my other pc when I plug in my 8703e it shows no apps installed at all. I do not have any apps on that pc, they are all stored on the first pc.

    Us discussing this will help come to a conclusion, hopefully!
    Last edited by cp6169; 12-11-2006 at 10:00 AM.

  15. #15
    buckeyefan's Avatar
    buckeyefan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can You Sync 2 Pearls On One Computer?

    It would seem to me to make sense if RIM did for the BB what Palm did for the Treo, i.e. two users, separate info when synching across the board. I can see the potential for much aggravation on this one!
    TMO 8100

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •