Results 1 to 14 of 14

Don't know why, but for some reason there is too much white on my screen. ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81

    Camera too white

    Advertisement



    Don't know why, but for some reason there is too much white on my screen. I needed to take a picture this morning when someone hit my bus, but didn't matter from what angle I was standing, I couldn't get a picture....everything was white.

    Any help?
    Last edited by Lavagirl; 06-17-2008 at 11:02 PM. Reason: format edit

  2. #2
    glamswagger's Avatar
    glamswagger no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E5FE7
    Posts
    89
    maybe it was your white balance setting? I dont kno if you upgraded to 4.5 but some people were having color issues with the camera with the new OS

  3. #3
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81
    Was just fine with .18, but this is something new since updating to .37.

  4. #4
    glamswagger's Avatar
    glamswagger no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E5FE7
    Posts
    89
    yea i think thats what it is then...the new OS is kinda buggy. My camera had a blue tint...I had to downgrade

  5. #5
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81
    I'm going to downgrade back to .18 and see what happens.

  6. #6
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39
    I had the same problem with 4.5.
    Inside the camera was black and outside, white.

    Major problems with the white balance in 4.5 me thinks.

    I downgraded to 4.2.107

    Thanks
    Mike

  7. #7
    claykin's Avatar
    claykin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    47
    4.5.0.37 and .42 both have the white balance issue on the Pearl. Other models don't seem to be affected as badly by this camera bug.

    .18 works fine.

  8. #8
    rendon's Avatar
    rendon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    24354f43
    Posts
    201
    Okay I think I might have found a solution for the white balance you need to take the camera cod files from the 4.2 os and place them into the 4.5 files and take out the other camera files its got to work because the camera don't not have a problem on 4.2 anyone else second this idea because we have access to both os' wat do you think???????????? ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    glamswagger's Avatar
    glamswagger no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E5FE7
    Posts
    89
    I don't know anything about cod files and my bb is not gonna be a guinea pig for this experiment...sounds simple enough though

  10. #10
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39
    Hi,

    Is there a 4.5.0.37 for the 8100, and if so, where can I download it from?

    Actually, this is the version I downloaded and it makes the camera unusable (white balance issue) and IM+ doesn't work. I thought there may be another version of 4.5 where the camera was OK?

    Thanks
    Mike
    Last edited by mike213735; 06-16-2008 at 12:49 PM.

  11. #11
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81
    .37 is the latest official version, but I have heard that there is a .42. My camera worked fine with .18, so I'm going to be downgrading to that later. Just trying out the unlocking Vendor Codes.

  12. #12
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81
    Ok...went back to 4.5.0.18 and all is just fine. I think RIM was too quick to release 4.5.0.37. Still has many bugs.

  13. #13
    claykin's Avatar
    claykin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by DataCentre View Post
    Ok...went back to 4.5.0.18 and all is just fine. I think RIM was too quick to release 4.5.0.37. Still has many bugs.
    .37 and .42 both have the camera white balance issue with the 8100. RIM isn't too quick at anything. I'm thoroughly disappointed in their lack of QC.

  14. #14
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81
    Tell me about it. They need to have more beta testers for the new OS so they can get it out more quickly.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •