Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

How exacly are your contacts suppost to be entered into your BB? i have mine ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    CaNe13's Avatar
    CaNe13 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2065D53F
    Posts
    75

    Call ID issue

    Advertisement



    How exacly are your contacts suppost to be entered into your BB? i have mine synced from my old sim card cause i guess the BB can do that (the rogers sales person did this for me when i first got my BB) and now whenever someone calls me all i get is there number and not there name displayed.

    any idea's?

  2. #2
    Founder's Avatar
    Founder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    302

    Re: Call ID issue

    Network is sending caller number in international format (+county_codearea_codecallernumber i.e. +38521999666).
    So if it's not entered as such in phonebook, you'll get just number.
    Or you have multiple entries with same number... then phone can't decide which name to show, so it shows just number.
    In space no one can hear you scream.

    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock Jelly Bean 4.3)
    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock KitKat 4.4.2)
    Samsung GT-I9100 Galaxy S II (CM 10.2)

  3. #3
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Call ID issue

    this is a "known issue".

    Go to phone -> options -> smart dialing -> fill inn the 3 options at the top.
    Country code, area code, and national number lenght.
    Hers how it look at my phone:

  4. #4
    Founder's Avatar
    Founder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    302

    Re: Call ID issue

    Interesting...
    I have only country code entered there, and everything is working.
    Of course, all numbers are entered in international format...
    In space no one can hear you scream.

    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock Jelly Bean 4.3)
    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock KitKat 4.4.2)
    Samsung GT-I9100 Galaxy S II (CM 10.2)

  5. #5
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Call ID issue

    you could be on to something there, maybe US users only have to enter the country code.. what I do know is that norwegian users experience this a lot and have to have settings like the screenshoot says..

    Based from experience here users whom have had problems got it to work after altering these settings, but I can't remember if they had to enter all the fields..

  6. #6
    Founder's Avatar
    Founder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    302

    Re: Call ID issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Sci-Tek View Post
    you could be on to something there, maybe US users only have to enter the country code..
    BTW... I'm NOT US user...
    And here national number length can be either 11 or 12 digits long (if we don't count "+" at the begining). Maybe that's why it works here...
    In space no one can hear you scream.

    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock Jelly Bean 4.3)
    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock KitKat 4.4.2)
    Samsung GT-I9100 Galaxy S II (CM 10.2)

  7. #7
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Call ID issue

    ive set national number lenght to 8, which is the number lenght without the country code, if country code where to be added lenght would be 10, if the + is added it would be 11 .. But I don't think it does..
    National number should be the lenght at number you dial from the same country.

  8. #8
    Founder's Avatar
    Founder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    302

    Re: Call ID issue

    Yeh.
    Here is my side of problem:
    - area code can be either 1 or two digits long (in fixed telephony. In mobile it's always 2 digits)
    - number can be either 6 ot 7 digits long (in fixed and mobile telephony)

    So I left it at 0 (zero), and it works.
    In space no one can hear you scream.

    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock Jelly Bean 4.3)
    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock KitKat 4.4.2)
    Samsung GT-I9100 Galaxy S II (CM 10.2)

  9. #9
    CaNe13's Avatar
    CaNe13 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2065D53F
    Posts
    75

    Re: Call ID issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Sci-Tek View Post
    this is a "known issue".

    Go to phone -> options -> smart dialing -> fill inn the 3 options at the top.
    Country code, area code, and national number lenght.
    Hers how it look at my phone:
    in my options i dont have smart dialing O.o?

  10. #10
    Founder's Avatar
    Founder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    302

    Re: Call ID issue

    Maybe this will give you an idea:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    In space no one can hear you scream.

    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock Jelly Bean 4.3)
    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock KitKat 4.4.2)
    Samsung GT-I9100 Galaxy S II (CM 10.2)

  11. #11
    CaNe13's Avatar
    CaNe13 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2065D53F
    Posts
    75

    Re: Call ID issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Founder View Post
    Maybe this will give you an idea:
    ah awesome ill give this a test right now thanks mate.

  12. #12
    i(heart)mybb1's Avatar
    i(heart)mybb1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    37

    Re: Call ID issue

    Quote Originally Posted by CaNe13 View Post
    How exacly are your contacts suppost to be entered into your BB? i have mine synced from my old sim card cause i guess the BB can do that (the rogers sales person did this for me when i first got my BB) and now whenever someone calls me all i get is there number and not there name displayed.

    any idea's?

    you need to transfer your contacts from your sim-card to the BB.
    I have my contacts stored on both, i do a wipe every 3-4 months
    and then i have to transfer all the contacts back to the phone,
    when people call you the contacts on the sim card alone are not
    going to show up by name unless you have them saved to your BB.

  13. #13
    CaNe13's Avatar
    CaNe13 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2065D53F
    Posts
    75

    Re: Call ID issue

    Quote Originally Posted by i(heart)mybb1 View Post
    you need to transfer your contacts from your sim-card to the BB.
    I have my contacts stored on both, i do a wipe every 3-4 months
    and then i have to transfer all the contacts back to the phone,
    when people call you the contacts on the sim card alone are not
    going to show up by name unless you have them saved to your BB.
    i did a import off my old phones sim card to my BB already.

  14. #14
    CaNe13's Avatar
    CaNe13 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2065D53F
    Posts
    75

    Re: Call ID issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Founder View Post
    Maybe this will give you an idea:
    also i noticed you have your country code set, how can i find out what Canada is?

  15. #15
    i(heart)mybb1's Avatar
    i(heart)mybb1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    37

    Re: Call ID issue

    1 - country code for Canada
    area code - 3 digit area codes
    phone number - 7 digit numbers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •