Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 49

I signed up for Cingular last Tuesday and picked up a Blackberry Pearl 8100. I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Smile Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    Advertisement



    I signed up for Cingular last Tuesday and picked up a Blackberry Pearl 8100. I have been adding 3rd party applications recently. I'm trying to get an IMAP email client, because I'm using Cingular's MediaBundle Unlimited which is half the price of BIS. (OperaMini works great for browsing.)

    I downloaded iCJKMail, iMobileMail, and Mail4Me. With Mail4Me, I followed instructions to convert the jad/jar files to alx/cod files, and can successfully load and launch them. I also tried this with LogicMail, but it throws an exception when trying to launch the app, after succesfully loading. (I couldn't install LogicMail OTA because OperaMini tries to launch the built-in CingularBrowser, which isn't configured due to lack of Service Books.)

    I'm loading all 3rd party applications using the Desktop Manager that is bundled on the Blackberry User Tool CD that came with the phone.

    Of the three email clients that I was able to both successfully load and launch, all have the same problem: When you try to change any of the options that have Radio Buttons, you can only select the first radio button of the set -- unless the option is the last option on the screen, then you can select any radio button.

    This must be a bug in BB OS. (I'm running the current latest from Cingular: Package 4.2.0.88 / Apps 4.2.0.71).

    I haven't been able to find any info about this problem anywhere on the this forum or the internet, so I'm posting this message. Perhaps someone can help.

    PS> I tried posting links to the programs and instructions mentioned above, but my membership level is not sufficiently high to do so.

  2. #2
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Arrow Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    This thread is quickly being buried by new threads. I hope someone sees it.

  3. #3
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    You need the BB unlimited plan.....

    GP

  4. #4
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    A little more info would be a little more helpful, but thanks for the reply.

  5. #5
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    Anyone else discover this bug as well?

  6. #6
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    Sorry. It would be a good idea to get the Unlimited plan because it doens't rack up your bill if you don't have it.

    GP

  7. #7
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    As gp has stated it does appear that it's trying to use the ports that are associated with the bb browser. without it you may be sunk.
    also what error messages are popping up?
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  8. #8
    proanim8r's Avatar
    proanim8r no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E693F2
    Posts
    102

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    Never experienced that bug but you might want to make sure you're not running low on system memory. With all of the apps you're loading, you may be running up to the limit and that can always create issues with the 8100.

    If that is the case, search the forum for "free memory" for a thread that will help you do just that.

  9. #9
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    I really appreciate the pocket book advice, but the problem I'm reporting is an interface problem where one can't select radio buttons.

  10. #10
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    jeremy is the mail4me app the one from getjar.com?
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  11. #11
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    Memory: File Free: 15,465,800 Bytes. I also have a 2GB SanDisk installed. I am only loading one email client at a time.

    Mail4Me: I downloaded the jad/jar from Mail4Me's defunct site and converted them to alx/cod files following instructions I found on BlackBerryForums dot com.

  12. #12
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    which version is it?
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  13. #13
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    the reason I ask is on getjar it states it is for many nokia phones but not any bb's. it may not be compatible for the pearl?
    anyhow if it's v 1.14 I will load it and let you know
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  14. #14
    JeremyZJ's Avatar
    JeremyZJ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    Address: mail4me dot objectweb dot org slash software slash downloads slash

    The Desktop Manager Application Loader says it is v1.14 and it looks like it reads that from within the cod file, not the alx.

  15. #15
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Bug in selecting Radio Buttons on Blackberry 8100 Pearl ...

    ok back in a minute I will pm you if I have any ?
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •