Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hello, I installed the map software that I downloaded from the RIM website. It worked ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    MC416's Avatar
    MC416 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21

    Blackberry maps

    Advertisement



    Hello,
    I installed the map software that I downloaded from the RIM website.
    It worked fine until I zoomed and then it turned into gray squares (?)
    In the images from the map software it shows way more detail then what appeared on my phone. Am I just not being patient enough and have to let it load more? Or did I not get the full program? I have yet to buy a microsd card, so is that the problem?

  2. #2
    surfanimal's Avatar
    surfanimal no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!
    Posts
    291

    Re: Blackberry maps

    Since the maps are retrieved through network and aren't stored on the phone (it'd be absolute murder on the device memory) you have to wait sometime while the map coordinates are processed and loaded.

  3. #3
    itguy01's Avatar
    itguy01 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    317A9B46
    Posts
    36

    Thumbs up Re: Blackberry maps

    It depends on several factors:

    1. The area you are looking at may not have satellite imagery that close (Usually happens in rural areas where not much is going on)
    2. You may need to wait a little longer for it to load, depending on what you are trying to look at the images may have alot of detail which on a mobile network will take longer. (Image rendering)
    3. You got the full program or it would not load to begin with
    4. Not having a SD card would not affect this since it loads in the web browser and your phone has enough memory to load it.

      hope this info helps!
    Zac

  4. #4
    MC416's Avatar
    MC416 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: Blackberry maps

    Awesome. Thank you.

  5. #5
    vpham's Avatar
    vpham no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    20

    Re: Blackberry maps

    Have you been able to get the GPS puck to work with your BB maps on the 8100?

    I haven't been able to get mine to work without crashing. Fo you have any ideas!


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    smarkow's Avatar
    smarkow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    57

    Re: Blackberry maps

    FYI - I would download googlemaps. I find that it is much better than the Blackberry Maps that came with my phone. just my opinion...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •