Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Hi all, My wife's BB flip on Rogers sometime gets a blank screen when opening ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160

    Blackberry flip blank screen on open ?!

    Advertisement



    Hi all,

    My wife's BB flip on Rogers sometime gets a blank screen when opening the flip, this is happening more often then not now.
    any ideas what the problem can be , defective?
    She got the phone a couple of months ago and it's pretty much in a default state.

    Much appreciated,

  2. #2
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    I would return it. sounds like the switch when you flip the phone open isnt working correctly
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  3. #3
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    Return it....my wife is on her third rogers flip.....
    godsdameatIluvdezlittleboxes

    The answer to everything?...BBSAK http://rimgeeks.com/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=56

  4. #4
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    Oh ok thanks ... btw she's with Bell sorry.
    What's the warranty on BB's?
    Ok returning it
    Last edited by jrmtl; 09-21-2009 at 02:27 PM.

  5. #5
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    Ok I just saw the phone and the screen stays black when opening the flip and if you play around with the flip it's turns on and off...

    It's a HW issue with the hinge I guess. Any experiences?

  6. #6
    walkiniceberg's Avatar
    walkiniceberg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    21D45768
    Posts
    260
    I've had this issue with a few slider phones as well as 2 motoRazr's. Its a hardware issue. There's this "ribbon" that goes through the hinge on the phone, on this "ribbon" there are several fragile wires, if one of them breaks bye bye display.
    BlackBerry8320/4.5.0.81 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  7. #7
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    I bought the phone in August .. still under warranty I guess.
    I want another batch and if they are all like this , I'll get another phone

    Damn flip phones

  8. #8
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    Any advice?

    The Bell store where I bought the phone says they have to send it in for repair... only after a month I'm already having problems
    Not a happy camper and why won't they just give me a new phone ?

    This really pisses me off

  9. #9
    BFielding80's Avatar
    BFielding80 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    10
    It has a bad flex cable, the cable that routes through the flip and sends all info to the top flip

  10. #10
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    So better to repair than get a new "same" problem phone ?

  11. #11
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    sounds like you dont have a choice to get a new one
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  12. #12
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    But are adamant on sending it in to get repaired... wtf
    Should I argue for a new one with the manager?

  13. #13
    BFielding80's Avatar
    BFielding80 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    10
    That should be covered under warranty provided theres no signs of physical abuse.... argue for your replacement phone, then get something else, have two phones

  14. #14
    jrmtl's Avatar
    jrmtl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    160
    It is covered under warranty and will be repaired not replaced of course. I'm just pissed that after a month it's gets defective and they said they only replace after 15 days.... load of c***.

    Now i have to wait 6 weeks and get a loaner.

    Calling retention

  15. #15
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    Rogers sent me a replacement every time....hmmm. That being said, the last one was a refurb unit. This one occasionally dies, wont charge etc. This happened yesterday and only booted up after taking both the sim card and the batter out and re installing them. I personally believe the design itself is a lemon.
    godsdameatIluvdezlittleboxes

    The answer to everything?...BBSAK http://rimgeeks.com/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=56

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •