Results 1 to 8 of 8

Is there a way I can use my phone to hook up my laptop to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    volunteers's Avatar
    volunteers no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    BB to hook laptop to internet??

    Advertisement



    Is there a way I can use my phone to hook up my laptop to internet? I use it so rarely that I'm sick of paying for the internet service.

  2. #2
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    Depends on the service you have. With T-Mobile there is no problem. In fact, they can walk you through the setup. With Cingular you will have to get a laptop connect plan or follow one of the walk throughs on this forum to set it up.

    Zo

  3. #3
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    If you have TMO this link should help. http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...red_modem.html

  4. #4
    svcrick's Avatar
    svcrick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    45

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    ~via BB
    I have cell one, any way I can use my BB as a tethered modem? Any help would be great, thanx.

  5. #5
    joe_2224's Avatar
    joe_2224 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    There are a lot of threads on setting up using your Pearl as a teathered modem. I too use Cellular One and in the "Extra Initialization String" cut and paste the following:

    +cgdcont=1.."cellular1wap"


    It works for me and it connects "relatively" fast. I wouldn't recommend using it for LARGE file downloads, but for general browsing and e-mailing, etc it works just fine. It works anywhere that I have service. Make sure you aren't roaming and that you have an unlimited data package.

    If you need detailed setup instructions try searching this forum or e-mail me and I can see if I can find it or I can walk you through it.

    Good Luck!

    joe_2224 at yahoo dot com

    www.etchedinstone-sc.com

  6. #6
    synthalo's Avatar
    synthalo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    215c93ad
    Posts
    69

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    Yeah I have mine set up through T-Mobile. It works just fine. I would see no reason why you couldn't do it with cell1. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    IAmrockinRich's Avatar
    IAmrockinRich no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    240B4B11
    Posts
    13

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    Doesn't this use up minutes?


    [Make sure you aren't roaming and that you have an unlimited data package.

    If you need detailed setup instructions try searching this forum or e-mail me and I can see if I can find it or I can walk you through it.

    Good Luck!

    joe_2224 at yahoo dot com

    www.etchedinstone-sc.com[/quote]
    Thanks,
    Rich

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: BB to hook laptop to internet??

    It does not use your minutes.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •