Hi im new to this forum and new to blackberry's all together, actually this is ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

gablekevin no está en línea Stack level 1

BB 8100/Pearl as PC Modem

Advertisement

Hi im new to this forum and new to blackberry's all together, actually this is my first cell phone in almost 5 years. I just ordered a pearl from amazon with t-mobile and the unlimited bb service.

This might be a total noob question but i was wondering with the phone and plan i have would i be able to tether the phone via usb and use it as a modem for my computer in a sense having unlimited internet.

wobly no está en línea Stack level 1

Re: BB 8100/Pearl as PC Modem

You will be able to do exactly what you described with your BB pearl. There are excellent instructions on this and other sites. Just remember to add the modem string.

gqnyc no está en línea Stack level 2
    PIN/ID
    23E627BC

OK, ON WITH THE "HOW TO" - below this line

1. If you do NOT have the latest DeskTop Manager, first go to BlackBerry Upgrade and choose "get software".

2. Enter your cell number and download the latest Desktop Manager Version on to your computer. Do NOT install yet.

3. Before installing the Desktop Manager software just downloaded, completely delete your old version of Desktop Manager.

4. Reboot, then install the new version of DeskTop Manager you downloaded.

Now for setting up your BlackBerry to work with your notebook or desktop with an UNLIMITED use Internet connection [through your T-Mobile account]. Speed about 115k!!

First, let's simply check and note what com ports your BlackBerry Desktop Manager installed and is using on the computer.

On XP - Go to

<Start>

<Control Panel>

<System>

<Hardware>

<Device Manager>

Scroll down to <Ports>

On having installed DeskTop Manager, there should be 2 ports listed that say "RIM".

Simply write down which com ports are listed as being used by "RIM". Most likely (COM4) and (COM5).