Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

I had some songs (.m4a format) saved on my media card and when I upgraded ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Audio .M4A

    Advertisement



    I had some songs (.m4a format) saved on my media card and when I upgraded my OS they would no longer play. Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Audio .M4A

    what OS did it play ok in, and what OS are you now using that it does not play.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520

    Re: Audio .M4A

    M4A or MPEG 4 Audio is an AAC file inside an MPG envelope. AAC is the successor of MP3. You would need to convert these files to MP3.

    I've found a converter here:

    http://www.brothersoft.com/mp3_audio...oad_53956.html

  4. #4
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Audio .M4A

    Update:

    When the song is saved on the device memory it works. When its saved on the media card it doesn't work. Does anyone know why this would be the case.

    I'm running V4.2.1.96

  5. #5
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119

    Re: Audio .M4A

    anyone correct me if im wrong..
    but couldnt it be the way the media card was formatted?
    Phone: T-Mo S4- Stock-Rooted


    [Former]
    Device: T-Mobile S3
    Device: HTC Amaze 4G
    Device: HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
    Device: BlackBerry (9700, 8900,8320,8120,8100)

  6. #6
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Audio .M4A

    I justed reformatted the card using options under the media card setting and the songs still wouldn't play.

  7. #7
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119

    Re: Audio .M4A

    if you reformatted the card in the BB, then all the files there are no good,
    what i would do is take everything off the media card, format the card and then place all the items back
    Phone: T-Mo S4- Stock-Rooted


    [Former]
    Device: T-Mobile S3
    Device: HTC Amaze 4G
    Device: HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
    Device: BlackBerry (9700, 8900,8320,8120,8100)

  8. #8
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Audio .M4A

    Serviiciio,

    That's what I did and it still didn't work. Any other ideas?

  9. #9
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119

    Re: Audio .M4A

    and it didnt work?
    make sure nothing is on the media card
    Phone: T-Mo S4- Stock-Rooted


    [Former]
    Device: T-Mobile S3
    Device: HTC Amaze 4G
    Device: HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
    Device: BlackBerry (9700, 8900,8320,8120,8100)

  10. #10
    iron07's Avatar
    iron07 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    22bf2ae1
    Posts
    609

    Re: Audio .M4A

    what media player are you useing the one with the os or a third party.

  11. #11
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Audio .M4A

    the one that came with the OS.

  12. #12
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119

    Re: Audio .M4A

    Hey ffbnewbie..
    Did you find a solution to your media problem?

    Have you consider upgrading your os to a more current one? Like the .107 for example
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Audio .M4A

    No solution yet. Downloading new OS right now will let you know if it works. Thanks!

  14. #14
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119

    Re: Audio .M4A

    Yea keep us updated!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    ffbnewbie's Avatar
    ffbnewbie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Audio .M4A

    I updated the OS to .108 and it still didn't work. I still get the error: "The media being played is of Unsupported format". If I move the song to the device memory it plays with no problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •