Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hello! I've searched around here and on google as well as spoken to one att ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mimic42100's Avatar
    mimic42100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8

    att and 4.5

    Advertisement



    Hello!
    I've searched around here and on google as well as spoken to one att rep about when 4.5 may be avail from att to its users.
    When I found the links to get the update here, I thought weather or not updating from here would possibly make my phone not work on the att network.
    The service rep told me to wait, but I want to stream youtube videos to my 8100 ASAP!
    Anyways, thanks for reading. I hope I asked my question in a clear mannor.

  2. #2
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    Yep, very clear! I was a little wary about updating for the first time also. There is no reason why you shouldn't update with another carrier's OS as long as you delete the vendor.xml file. If you have any more questions, just ask!

  3. #3
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    And by the way, there is a list on the homepage of the newest OS's for each model. You should use one of those.

  4. #4
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    Good luck with youtube on your 8100. I've been trying all the different 4.5 versions around and still can't get it to work on mine. Just gets blank media player screen. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    yeah, a few people have had that problem. and they've all been w/ the Optus carrier...
    "That was why I had got into my car and headed West, because when you don't like it where you are you always go West. We have always gone West." - Jack Burden

  6. #6
    here_miah's Avatar
    here_miah no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    162
    I can watch one or two youtube videos and then I just get an error message about invalid URL if I keep trying to watch more unless I either restart or close and then reopen the browser.....~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    Mr_Carter's Avatar
    Mr_Carter no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,388
    Yes.. Youtube as such I'm not able to watch them.. But there are a few pages that allows you to watch videos. Give blueapple.mobi a shot. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    deceive's Avatar
    deceive no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EC31BF
    Posts
    56
    I just update to 4.5 yesterday. I have yet to try the YouTube thing yet. But one thing I did notice was that I don't have html email viewing. Is there some option that I need to turn on? I would have thougt att would have updated their BIS to 4.5 Am I missing something?
    ~via BB. (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    Try resending your service books. You can do this by running the email setup wizard and going to the account page. Sign in then scroll down to service books and clck it, then scroll down again to send service books. It should work after that!

  10. #10
    Ekzt1nr's Avatar
    Ekzt1nr no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,146
    Ok. After reading this thread I'm still a bit skeptical about upgrading..should I just wait for att to come out with their 4.5 release or should I give it try? I don't wanna go thru a lot of hassle with upgrading n removing this n that and resending this n that. I just wanna be able to upgrade in one shot n have my html and my streaming video.wut do you guys think?

  11. #11
    siliconvalley785's Avatar
    siliconvalley785 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    PIN/ID
    2260D5E4
    Posts
    122
    Upgrade is fine - just know that your memory card could mess up your device, causing it to restart continuously. That's what mine did, and I found out removing the memory card will help.
    As far as YouTube, I just tested it on 4.5 and it's fine, no problems seen.

    Pritesh

  12. #12
    Ekzt1nr's Avatar
    Ekzt1nr no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,146
    So I can't have a memory card when I upgrade? So how will I use all my apps n games?

  13. #13
    deceive's Avatar
    deceive no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EC31BF
    Posts
    56
    I upgraded and have a 4gb memory card in there. I haven't had any of the rebooting issues people keep mentioning (knock on wood). So I don't think its a guaranteed thing that your going to have that problem.

  14. #14
    Timo529's Avatar
    Timo529 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    72
    I'm on att and I upgraded to 4.5 from orange UK and so far its great only issue so far is that when I receive missed calls sometimes the led keeps blinking after checking a battery pull fixes it other than that all the features were worth upgrading I'm on blackberry pearl 8100 so that's all I can speak for ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by Ekzt1nr View Post
    Ok. After reading this thread I'm still a bit skeptical about upgrading..should I just wait for att to come out with their 4.5 release or should I give it try? I don't wanna go thru a lot of hassle with upgrading n removing this n that and resending this n that. I just wanna be able to upgrade in one shot n have my html and my streaming video.wut do you guys think?
    There is really no reason to be scared. There are plenty of How-To's on PinStack to show you how to upgrade and you can always just ask if you have problems- which I doubt you will, but that's not saying you won't... As long as you delete the vendor.xml, there is no reason you're upgrade should not work properly! Just make sure you have plenty of time to do the upgrade (about an hour) and don't unplug anything, and you should be fine.
    "That was why I had got into my car and headed West, because when you don't like it where you are you always go West. We have always gone West." - Jack Burden

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •