Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hello. I own an 8100 pearl from att. I purchased the device from a kiosk ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mimic42100's Avatar
    mimic42100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8

    att 8100 fustrations

    Advertisement



    Hello.
    I own an 8100 pearl from att. I purchased the device from a kiosk in a local walmart store, which I think was my biggest mistake.
    Anyhow, I've been having problems with my emAil service. I've deleted the email accounts in email setup, re added them after a reboot, had the service books resent from the email setup site. Still nothing. MY wireless web works, ramble works, google maps etc. All data services work, except email. I have called att cust support 5 times in the last 3 weeks to try to get the issue resolved. Each time I call I am professional and polite to the csr I speak to.yet noone has been able to fix this issue. I'm about to attempt a device exchange. Not for another normal phone, but for another blackberry.
    Is there any other options I should try before I go that route?
    Any help or tips at all would be wonderfull.
    Thanks for reading!

  2. #2
    kieranwest's Avatar
    kieranwest no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me:)
    Posts
    1,208
    Does your device currently display "EDGE" in uppercase? Have you tried re-registering your host routing table(Options>Advanced Options>Host Routing Table>Menu key>Register Now? Does it get sucessfully registered?

  3. #3
    mimic42100's Avatar
    mimic42100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by kieranwest View Post
    Does your device currently display "EDGE" in uppercase? Have you tried re-registering your host routing table(Options>Advanced Options>Host Routing Table>Menu key>Register Now? Does it get sucessfully registered?
    Yea I get edge in all caps. When I just reset my device it didn't show up so I pulled the battery for 3 to 5 minutes and all uppercase.
    And yes I have registered with the network. Still no email service.
    I can send mail just fine.
    For example, I have a blackberry email (att.blackberry.net) and my gmail linked to my device. I have icons for both accounts.
    Whenever I send myself a test mail from att to gmail it sends fine. My device just never gets the mail.
    I checked that it was sending using the BB gmail program from google.

  4. #4
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Check the device firewall settings to make sure it's not blocking all incoming messages. Options>Security options>Firewall...make sure the firewall is disabled.

  5. #5
    mimic42100's Avatar
    mimic42100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by RayZ View Post
    Check the device firewall settings to make sure it's not blocking all incoming messages. Options>Security options>Firewall...make sure the firewall is disabled.
    Thank you. That fixed my problem.
    You did in a few moments what att tech support couldn't do in 3 phone calls to tech support.
    Thank you very much!

  6. #6
    kingrykku27's Avatar
    kingrykku27 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2444409C
    Posts
    568
    The problem with the AT&T cutomer service is that they aren't "blackberry fluent"

    You ask them to transfer you to a blackberry specialist, and they help you out with blackberry stuff.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Quote Originally Posted by mimic42100 View Post
    Thank you. That fixed my problem.
    You did in a few moments what att tech support couldn't do in 3 phone calls to tech support.
    Thank you very much!
    You're very welcome, I'm glad that fixed it. Techs sometimes forget that the Blackberry has a pretty strong firewall, and for some unknown reason it will turn itself on occasionally. Glad it worked!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •