Results 1 to 12 of 12

When I download a game, and try to use Device Application Loader to install I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mskismet's Avatar
    mskismet no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    14

    Question Application Loader Error

    Advertisement



    When I download a game, and try to use Device Application Loader to install I keep getting a message that says "No additonal applications designed for your devise were found". Can someone please tell me why this is happening?

  2. #2
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    You need to load the latest BB OS onto the PC first. You can find the latest version here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86

    After installing it, delete the vendor.xml file from: C:\Program Files\Common Files\ Research In Motion\AppLoader

  3. #3
    mskismet's Avatar
    mskismet no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by doughdaddy View Post
    You need to load the latest BB OS onto the PC first. You can find the latest version here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86

    After installing it, delete the vendor.xml file from: C:\Program Files\Common Files\ Research In Motion\AppLoader
    I went to this web site.. and it doesn't have the carrier(telus) for my device.

  4. #4
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    You don't need to use the Telus OS. Download the US Cellular version and delete the file I mentioned above.
    Last edited by doughdaddy; 03-29-2008 at 06:26 PM.

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    If you wish I believe you will find the Telus link here:

    Link to download Device Operating System by Carrier

    If you use DoughDaddys instructions it will also install the new operating system on your device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    mskismet's Avatar
    mskismet no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by doughdaddy View Post
    You need to load the latest BB OS onto the PC first. You can find the latest version here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86

    After installing it, delete the vendor.xml file from: C:\Program Files\Common Files\ Research In Motion\AppLoader
    I tried this and I'm still getting the same error, what am I doing wrong
    ms newbian

  7. #7
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    are you trying to change/update/add the same application? or is it a different one
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  8. #8
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Is it possible that you need to select "add" on the application loader and point to the alx file (if you're sure that the file is already on your p-c)?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  9. #9
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    Quote Originally Posted by mskismet View Post
    I tried this and I'm still getting the same error, what am I doing wrong
    Did you delete the vendor.xml file I mentioned? If you did not delete it after installing the OS on the PC, then it will not recognise the BB OS and you will get the same error.

  10. #10
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    There has been a case or two with me, where I found bad apps. I can load everything else, but some 3rd Party Apps just do not work.

  11. #11
    mskismet's Avatar
    mskismet no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by doughdaddy View Post
    Did you delete the vendor.xml file I mentioned? If you did not delete it after installing the OS on the PC, then it will not recognise the BB OS and you will get the same error.
    I deleted the vendor file like you said. Tried to instal a game and got the same error.
    ms newbian

  12. #12
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Here is my take on your problem:

    1) doughdaddys instructions are 100% correct and should solve the problem.

    2) I have performed the steps he outlined over twenty times with perfect success (I have several BB's as well as helping out friends). Thus the point is that this method usually works fine.

    That said, on a couple of occasions (after those 20 or so perfect results) I have actually had to repeat the process as though some file got corrupted. So, I would highly suggest you start from the beginning & repeat the process. Also another tip is when deleting the vendor file, do not delete it to the trash, but delete it completely. While deleting it to the trash should not matter, I know based on experience that it makes a difference.

    So to recap, start all over again from the beginning follow doughdaddys instructions. Then when deleting the vendor file do a full delete and you should have success.

    Let us know how you do.

    Cheers!
    via RedBerry *8310* (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •