Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi all... can someone help/offer guidance? I have yahoo messenger installed and works flawlessly on ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Az4R1's Avatar
    Az4R1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    Advertisement



    Hi all... can someone help/offer guidance? I have yahoo messenger installed and works flawlessly on BB. However, I can't add msn contacts from BB. I went on my PC, signed in on yahoo messenger, added all my msn contacts and work great on PC.

    However, when I sign in yahoo messenger on BB, all my msn contacts don't appear
    (only contacts with yahoo id appear). The conclusion is that yahoo messenger on BB only will work with contacts with yahoo id (msn messenger contacts not compatible). Can some one confirm or is there a way around this?

    I'm the US and using T-Mobile with unlimited data plan.
    Thanks all!

    -Az4R1

  2. #2
    nik0's Avatar
    nik0 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    184

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    Yeah, the WLM integreation does not work with the BB version of Y! Messenger. I suggest using JiveTalk which can login to a WLM(MSN) account and a Yahoo! account.

  3. #3
    Az4R1's Avatar
    Az4R1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    Thanks Nik0. Sent email to Jive and got the link but JiveTalk won't run due to 'open tunnel-error'... Have u heard of this? Any advice? I posted another thread asking for assistance.
    -Az4R1

  4. #4
    nik0's Avatar
    nik0 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    184

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    Have you set your APN settings? Options>Advanced Options>TCP

    T-Mobile is wap.voicestream.com and username and password left blank. Someone will be along shortly with the Cingular APN I'm sure.

  5. #5
    Az4R1's Avatar
    Az4R1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    Yes... all set now, thanks! What a rookie I am, perhaps I should set my level to 'beginner' instead! LOL... ; )

  6. #6
    Dizz's Avatar
    Dizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3046b46c
    Posts
    6

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    lol...
    It is what it is. ya diggg? Ask somebody!

  7. #7
    kawarskih's Avatar
    kawarskih no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F54740
    Posts
    18

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    glad i read this, i was wonderign why i never got my msn contacts

  8. #8
    mishkamex's Avatar
    mishkamex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2415F762
    Posts
    3

    Re: Adding msn contacts to yahoo messenger

    Here is a list I found of many APNs worldwide.

    reqwireless(dot)com(slash)apns(dot)html

    Sorry for the coded URL but the Antispam filter is blocking me since I'm only Level 1.

    However, you may want to check with your carrier if changing these settings will not affect your data plan as in charging extra $$$.

    This happened to me a couple of months ago when I decided to get rid of the webmessenger and installed QuickIM. I kept getting the tunnel error and found out the proper APN was needed. I found the APN for my carrier (Telcel/Mexico) and changed it on my HH.

    Big mistake!

    I got an extra $200 USD charge just from all data sent/received through this server which turned out not to be included in my data plan.

    Hope this helps!

    Norman

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •