Results 1 to 10 of 10

I've had my pearl a few months and I love it, but one of the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Jacisipmac's Avatar
    Jacisipmac no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23e9128a
    Posts
    114

    Question A vibrate/ringtone question

    Advertisement



    I've had my pearl a few months and I love it, but one of the things thats always bothered me is that no matter what profile setting it's on, it always seems to vibrate for a while before it ever gets around to making any noise. It very closely resembles the "vibrate, then ring," profile found on many moto devices. I don't care for it much because if I leave my phone in another room, by the time I hear it I only have about a ring and a half's time to get to it before the person hangs up... I've looked through some options and nothing seemes to stick out to me as a way to disable this feature. I do make my own mp3 ringtones, but I don't leave any blank space at the beginning of them, and they always work perfectly on any other device they are put on.

    Am i over looking something? is there an option to this effect? or is it just an RIM querk?

    I suppose I understand the purpose of the feature, however in my situation it isn't very useful and I would love to be able to turn it off.

    thank you

  2. #2
    smalls's Avatar
    smalls no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    68

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jacisipmac
    I've had my pearl a few months and I love it, but one of the things thats always bothered me is that no matter what profile setting it's on, it always seems to vibrate for a while before it ever gets around to making any noise. It very closely resembles the "vibrate, then ring," profile found on many moto devices. I don't care for it much because if I leave my phone in another room, by the time I hear it I only have about a ring and a half's time to get to it before the person hangs up... I've looked through some options and nothing seemes to stick out to me as a way to disable this feature. I do make my own mp3 ringtones, but I don't leave any blank space at the beginning of them, and they always work perfectly on any other device they are put on.

    Am i over looking something? is there an option to this effect? or is it just an RIM querk?

    I suppose I understand the purpose of the feature, however in my situation it isn't very useful and I would love to be able to turn it off.

    thank you
    You can go to Profiles > Advanced > Phone, and make sure that the ringer says Tone and not Vibrate & Tone.

  3. #3
    Jacisipmac's Avatar
    Jacisipmac no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23e9128a
    Posts
    114

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    well, id still like it to vibrate, but i want it to vibrate and ring as soon as i get a call, rather than vibrate first and then ring, but if thats as close as i can get i guess ill take it

    thanks for the input

  4. #4
    Er0's Avatar
    Er0
    Er0 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    I'm new to the blackberrys. I was wondering this as well.

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    nope it will just vibrate then ring. it won't do it at the same time. I do miss that function from my very old Sony T610

  6. #6
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    definately a missed feature but there are so many other things to love about the Pearl! That's how I cope with the missing vibrate and ring function.

  7. #7
    purdy_gurl91's Avatar
    purdy_gurl91 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    change how many vibrations

  8. #8
    Jacisipmac's Avatar
    Jacisipmac no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23e9128a
    Posts
    114

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    hey thanks, im gonna play around with some diff. stuff and see what i like the best.

  9. #9
    richcee's Avatar
    richcee no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    86

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    I am new to this also and miss the vibrate AND ring feature. It seems you can reduce the number of vibrates to 1 and thats it.

  10. #10
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: A vibrate/ringtone question

    Quote Originally Posted by richcee
    I am new to this also and miss the vibrate AND ring feature. It seems you can reduce the number of vibrates to 1 and thats it.
    You can also go to Tone only so there is no vibrating up front.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •