Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 55

I have .96 2 micro cards, swap them all the time, during os loads it's ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #31
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Advertisement



    I have .96 2 micro cards, swap them all the time, during os loads it's in. reddog has .96 too?

    no probs
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  2. #32
    mbellew's Avatar
    mbellew no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask&Recv
    Posts
    79

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    .96.... And its a sandisk I got at bestbuy ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #33
    grmiller's Avatar
    grmiller no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Buy a new Blackberry

  4. #34
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Quote Originally Posted by russcrypto
    Well, I guess the OS can be suspect #1 then, at least until we can find something else linking these incidents.
    Waaaaaaaay too freaking early to try and assign it to the OS, no one has even confirmed this yet. Let's not jump the gun, we need more data (or any at all) to support this idea. You have people running scared about the new OS and it might not be related at all....

    So, can anyone help correlate this idea?

  5. #35
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Using a Kingston 1gb card with the latest ATT OS with no problems so far. Card is about 6 months old.

  6. #36
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Quote Originally Posted by Kortanis
    Waaaaaaaay too freaking early to try and assign it to the OS, no one has even confirmed this yet. Let's not jump the gun, we need more data (or any at all) to support this idea. You have people running scared about the new OS and it might not be related at all....
    Hold up, you are twisting my words here. I said the OS could be suspect #1. In no way, does that mean the OS is the culprit. The OS just happens to be the only thing that changed on my BB, within a reasonable time frame, before my media card died. The OS also happens to be running on mbellew's BB. This was just the first correlating event/circumstance that has been discovered, hence the "#1" part. Last time I checked, in America, one is innocent until proven guilty. LOL

    I was mearly starting a list of suspects. I'm unaware of any mass paranoia being provoked by my statement. However, if some people were deterred from upgrading to the new OS, I apologize. That was not my intention whatsoever. I love the whole upgrade experience. It's one of the things I love about having a BB.

    There are two ther suspects as well. Of course it could be the device. It looks like others have experienced this before the new AT&T OS was released. Although, all accounts I've read about say that the microSD cards involved were not SanDisk branded. Which brings me to the final suspect on the list. It could also be a manufacturer's defect. This theory is weakened by the fact that other brands of microSD card have also been shorted out.

    Using the information gathered so far, it would appear that a more likely scenario could be that it's a combination of device and OS. If other brands of microSD truely are inferior to SanDisk, then the device could have shorted them out pre 1.96. If the new OS changed how power is distributed to the different device features, it may be using too much for the media card.

    This is no way a definitive answer. I'm just brainstorming here.
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  7. #37
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    OK, I just saw the OS thread. Now I understand where there may have been some hysteria. Please note that I am not the one that is telling people to careful about upgrading because of my suspicions (sp?).

    IMHO, that was a very irresponsible thing to do.
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  8. #38
    jbjackson3004's Avatar
    jbjackson3004 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EEF24E
    Posts
    269

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    So there was never a solution for this problem? I got a 2gb Sandisk card from radio shack, and get the same message, Please insert....

    Anyone?

  9. #39
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Quote Originally Posted by jbjackson3004
    So there was never a solution for this problem? I got a 2gb Sandisk card from radio shack, and get the same message, Please insert....

    Anyone?
    Have you ever used the card before? This issue was for cards that were in use and all of a sudden just "disappeared".
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  10. #40
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    2 GB Sandisk, it has "survived" .73, .89, .94, .96, and .101 upgrades and still works just fine. Just to calm the mass hysteria.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  11. #41
    jbjackson3004's Avatar
    jbjackson3004 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EEF24E
    Posts
    269

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Quote Originally Posted by russcrypto
    Have you ever used the card before? This issue was for cards that were in use and all of a sudden just "disappeared".
    No sir, never used it before, was brand new and I got that message. I brought it from Radio Shack for about 38 bucks, so before I mailed the phone back I went to try another card.

    Maybe I fried the first one or something, I did have a lot of problems getting it to fit. I say that because the first time I put the new one in (now that I know they slide into the latch) the Sandisk 2gb card works...

    But it says I have a total file space of 1.8 gb

  12. #42
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Sir?! Don't call me sir. I I work for a living. sorry, I couldn't help myself.

    Yeah, it sounds like you either got a defective card or defected it yourself. lol

    The 1.8 gb of space is normal after it's been formatted.

  13. #43
    dangitsbrattany's Avatar
    dangitsbrattany no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EDDAEF
    Posts
    13

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    how much do those cost?

  14. #44
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Quote Originally Posted by dangitsbrattany
    how much do those cost?
    Just give it a search on Amazon or Newegg. You can find them pretty cheap about 20-40 bucks for 2GB

  15. #45
    jbjackson3004's Avatar
    jbjackson3004 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EEF24E
    Posts
    269

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    The one I got from Radio Shack was bout 38... But it was on sale also, I think the reg price was like 70-80 bucks.

    But online is always a good source like Reddog187 said.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •