Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 55

I had this problem with my card too I formatted it on my pc Then ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    tramane's Avatar
    tramane no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Advertisement



    I had this problem with my card too
    I formatted it on my pc
    Then Put it in BB and still said there was aaproblem
    So i hit the menu key then chose format, And now my KRZR cannot read the card but my pearl can!

  2. #17
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    so the media card works in your BB now right?

  3. #18
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Quote Originally Posted by tramane
    I had this problem with my card too
    I formatted it on my pc
    Then Put it in BB and still said there was aaproblem
    So i hit the menu key then chose format, And now my KRZR cannot read the card but my pearl can!
    Many different devices use different file structures when formatting media cards, often they are not intended to be universally compatible with other devices or even PC's. When this is the case they are intendeding you to access the card through that device only.

    If you are trying to get the card to be able to swap between the devices, I don't believe you can. I don't have experience with krzr's, but Motorola often does things differently than other companies, not necessarily a bad thing, but sometimes.

    I've also had problems before where another device would even fail to check the existing file structure and inadvertantly overwrite it instead.

    Are you trying to use it in both devices? Perhaps explain how you are trying to use the card.

  4. #19
    salty1224's Avatar
    salty1224 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    I have the exact same prolbem =[ it just wont work!

  5. #20
    mbellew's Avatar
    mbellew no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask&Recv
    Posts
    79

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Mine also stopped recognizing the card over night. I swapped it with my gf's and my pearl recognized hers, but her nextel wouldn't recognize mine... I'm thinking that the card shorted somehow... Any thoughts? ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #21
    weenies's Avatar
    weenies no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    i've done hard resets "taking the battery out" and i tried wiping my phone but when i go to advance "format card" it says "format failed"... says the same thing when i try to format it on my computer too..

  7. #22
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    This is the first "real" problem that I have encountered with my Pearl. I've been using my Sandisk 1gb microSD card for 3 months or so, with absolutely no hitches. Then, all of a sudden, yesterday there was no media card inserted.

    I tried all the usual tricks, with no results. So, when I got home, I pulled out the big guns. I did a full wipe, with JL Commander. Then reloaded the OS, and did a restore. Still nothing. Of course, after going through that whole process, I put the card in my card reader (really wish I would've thought of it earlier) lol. Anywho, my PC didn't even "see" the card.

    So, it appears as though my Pearl fried my media card. Oh well, I guess now my wife can't gripe when I get a 2gb card.

  8. #23
    mbellew's Avatar
    mbellew no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask&Recv
    Posts
    79

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Can someone elaborate as to what we can do since th BB fried our media cards?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #24
    salty1224's Avatar
    salty1224 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    i have the same prolbem...sounds just like me =[

  10. #25
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Still haven't found a cure yet for yoour problems here. However, out of curiosity's sake, what brand of cards are these, are they very often Sandisk? Or Kingston, PNY, etc.? Sandisk normally has amazing quality, and the others... not so much. If this was a problem with the cards rather than the device that could be bad for Sandisk...

  11. #26
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Mine is a Sandisk. I bought it at Circuit City, so I know it wasn't from a "seconds" batch, like you might get from eBay or other online stores.

  12. #27
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Another thought on this. I'm running the new AT&T OS. What is everyone else running with the fried cards?

  13. #28
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    haha, good point. You might just have somehting there..

  14. #29
    mbellew's Avatar
    mbellew no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask&Recv
    Posts
    79

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    I'm running the new .96 ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #30
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: "A media card is not presently inserted in the device"

    Well, I guess the OS can be suspect #1 then, at least until we can find something else linking these incidents.

    Mbellew, where did you purchase yours from? When was it purchased? On the underside of the microSD/TransFlash adapter, there is a lot #. If you still have it, what is that #? There's also some identifying #'s on the microSD itself, but I can't make them out on mine. I'm going to have to go to my parents house and borrow a magnifying glass. LOL
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •