Results 1 to 9 of 9

CEO of my company got his 8700 run over by a bus... the berry was ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Krad's Avatar
    Krad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    381

    8700 Battery n My Pearl

    Advertisement



    CEO of my company got his 8700 run over by a bus... the berry was toast but the battery is good. Just for giggles i popped it into my pearl and it works!

    it appears to be alittle thicker then my pearl battery, and makes the battery door pop out ever so lightly, but i have the seido plastic case, so it is cool.

    ANyone else try this? what are the benefits? an extra hour of talk time? more standby time?

  2. #2
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I have several 7100 series batteries that work in my 8100.

  3. #3
    Krad's Avatar
    Krad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    381

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    Very surprising results...

    with the pearl yellow battery i get 50% empty by 11pm bedtime.
    with the 8700 blue battery i get 75% full by 11pm bed time.

    I had to rip out the styrofoam square on the door and it fit perfectly.

    fyi.

  4. #4
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    Well I know the 8700 battery is built differently. Its made to have a longer battery life. I would be careful because right now it mihg not be doing any damage but because it is a stronger battery it may affect your phone and your normal pearl battery. I know I had put my 7100 battery that I put in my 8700 and that didn't work so just a heads up. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    Just make sure that it is the same voltage, the Pearl uses a 3.7v battery. If you can find it anywhere the mAh is the rating of the 'life' of the battery for each charge. The higher the number means the more battery life that you will have under the same usage. i.e. a 3.7v 2000mAh battery has 20% more juice than a 3.7v 1600mAh battery, (under the same usage!).

    This is precisely what is different about an 'extended life' battery.

  6. #6
    Krad's Avatar
    Krad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    381

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    they both say 3.7.. that is why i tried it. the 8700 one is just a little fatter. I figure has a bit more juice.

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I have several 7100 series batteries that work in my 8100.
    Forgot to mention the exception to this is I discovered the following:

    1) The C-S1 black battery that came with the 7100t does NOT fit the Pearl.

    2) The C-S2 blue 7100 series battery works in the Pearl.

    3) The black C-H1 extended battery for the 7100 series doesn't work with the Pearl either.

    I was under the impression that numbers 1 and 3 worked but I had to replace my original BB and this one doesn't like them LOL

  8. #8
    knightberlin's Avatar
    knightberlin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    34

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    Thanks for the info Erica...Now I don't have to go crazy figuring out why black 7100 batteries will not work on Pearl...

  9. #9
    boomboom's Avatar
    boomboom no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    486

    Re: 8700 Battery n My Pearl

    I had put my Blue 3.7v battery in my Pearl, it works but the door is hard to be put on, I now use my 7105t as my battery charger.

    I do a hard-reset twice a day so that I don't lose my call-logs and sms messages.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •