Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hey guys. I just bough my mother 8220 from rogers and just wondering which os ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756

    8220 Language Support

    Advertisement



    Hey guys. I just bough my mother 8220 from rogers and just wondering which os version has the russian language support? Display menues and stuff in russian, nit just the character support. Thanks sooooo much !!!!!
    Last edited by cherrichiodo; 02-16-2009 at 02:29 AM. Reason: edited 8820 to say 8220
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  2. #2
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    Your carrier should have a the Multi-Language OS available for download. When it is installing on your Computer it will ask you for a default language. Tell it Russian.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    Thats the thing, all of the OSes are multilingual. Just not all of the carriers and releases include the same language. There are numerous once, chez, polish, brazilian port... but russian is not one of them! I found a few of OS for her old 8700, but cant seem to find one for the 8220.
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  4. #4
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    I see what you mean..... I guess it is just a matter of hit and miss. I will research this tomorrow. I just took my medication, I won't be awake in a very few minutes :-)
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    VimpelCom is the carrier for 8220 in Russia. If you can find their website you should be able to find a link to their OS. I am certain if they are supplying the Russian market, they must have a Russian language version of the OS.

    I think the URL is http://beeline.ru/

    Once I get there I am lost as the site is in, of course, RUSSIAN.

    Hope this helps.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  6. #6
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    Thank you very much. That should do it!

    ~via smartphone~

  7. #7
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    I searched out the beeline and could not find anything. I am wondering, are the same os releases from different carriers would have different language set, or is it all the same ?
    eg> Tmobile X.X.0.160 has english and german
    While Trigcom x.x.0.160 has english and french
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  8. #8
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    Have you tried Operating Systems from neighbouring countries like Romania , Cosmote (Romania, Greece Poland etc).

    If these don't work, it looks like you will have to contact RIM directly to seek their assistance.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  9. #9
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    yeah those dont have the language either. I think i will shoot RIM an email with the question about this.
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  10. #10
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    I'm afraid that what you ask does not exist (yet)
    BB's localization does exist BUT It Is available for some selected languages only (for years now)
    I have yet to see a Greek, Russian etc Localization
    Multilingual Roms usually provide the usual Italian, French etc etc localization
    PLUS Input support In many different languages e.g. Greek (Greek Localization though Does Not exist)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •